LibGuides: Māori Studies: Māori Archaeology

Māori & Indigenous Archaeology

Image by Nick Thompson. cc.

Māori Archaeology

Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text indexes sources on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage is from 1955 to the present from over 2,500 journals in over 40 languages.
Historical Collection (Proquest)
The historical collection gives you access to millions of pages of cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents including articles, correspondence, government records, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and more, documenting the wide range of topics in world history.
Taoka Otago Museum
The Otago Museum is the custodian of one the largest collections of southern Māori taoka in the world. With the support of the Otago Museum Māori Advisory Committee and the Lottery World War One Commemorations Environment and Heritage Committee Fund, over 22,000 items from the collection have been digitised for online access here.
Maori Land Online
This website, originally launched in 2004, provides a snapshot of current ownership, trustee, memorial and block information for land that falls within the jurisdiction of the Māori Land Court under Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993 and other legislation – this is primarily Māori Customary and Māori Freehold Land, but also includes, General Land Owned by Māori, Crown Land Reserved for Māori and some treaty settlement reserves, mahingā kai and fishing rights areas.
Māori Land Court
Haere mai rā e te moko tangata, koutou ngā wehi o te whenua. Hokahōkai ana ō waewae ki te pakirau o tēnei whare, awhe mai ana ki te hau kainga, ki te pou herenga tangata, ki te pou herenga whenua, ki te pou whare kōrero, ki te pae o Te Kooti e. Ka tūwhera Te Kooti!
If you own or have an interest in Māori land, the Māori Land Court is a judicial forum through which you can interact with other owners or interested people about the current and future use, ownership, occupation and/or management of Māori land.
Māori Land Court Minute Books
The Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (MLCMBI) provides quick and easy access to over 1100 hand written minute book records which were made between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts. The MLCMBI database was created by the University of Auckland Library and is hosted by The Knowledge Basket.
Waitangi Tribunal Reports
An online repository of the WAI reports. WAI reports contain a lot of historical information from research and oral accounts. You can search for the full reports and related documents by WAI number or use the map to find reports available by area.
Kā Huru Manu (Ngai Tahu)
Here you can see over 1,000 original Māori place names, kā ara tawhito (traditional travel routes), and the original Māori land allocations in the Ngāi Tahu takiwā. Cultural mapping project.
Māori Maps
Māori Maps helps to connect Māori descendants with their marae, and enable visitors to make appropriate contact with these centres of culture - in particular, linking Māori youth with their ancestral identity. Marae are the centres of Māori identity, marking the home ground and mana of hapū (kin groups) and whānau (families). A marae is both a physical and spiritual location, a collection of buildings and an anchoring to the land, a place where people meet and the community of related people itself.
Ministry for Culture & Heritage
We research New Zealand and provide rich online resources like Te Ara — the Encyclopedia of New Zealand. We produce books, advise government and look after New Zealand's national treasures. We tend to work behind the scenes, helping the people and organisations that contribute to making our culture thrive.
UNESCO World Heritage Convention - New Zealand
The most significant feature of the 1972 World Heritage Convention is that it links together in a single document the concepts of nature conservation and the preservation of cultural properties. The Convention recognizes the way in which people interact with nature, and the fundamental need to preserve the balance between the two.
New Zealand Museums
NZ Museums showcases New Zealand's museums and galleries and their collections. It's also a directory of museums and galleries, and an online collection management system. Through NZ Museums we are enabling all museums across New Zealand to have a global online presence, and encouraging cataloguing, digitatisation and sharing of collections.
GeoNet
The GeoNet project was established in 2001 to build and operate a modern geological hazard monitoring system in New Zealand. It comprises a network of geophysical instruments, automated software applications and skilled staff to detect, analyse and respond to earthquakes, volcanic activity, large landslides, tsunami and the slow deformation that precedes large earthquakes.

Māori Research

Image: Archives NZ - Māori Land Court Minute Books

Ngā Upoko Tukutuku (Māori Subject Headings)

Ngā Upoko Tukutuku Library Guide
Ngā Upoko Tukutuku | Māori Subject Headings have an important role to play in providing access to Māori resources and literature in te reo Māori (and catalogued material going forward) for our tauira and researchers, particularly for Te Tumu and other kaupapa Māori papers.  

The guide is made up of 6 tabs:
1. Introduction to Ngā Upoko Tukutuku, Whārangi kāinga
2. A ‘how to use’ video, Me pēhea te whakamahi,
3. Ngā Tauira pukupuka, with examples of Māori Subject Headings for items we hold
4. The Ngā tauira poutarāwaho tab with examples of the framework of broader, narrow and related terms relate
5. An Iwi Hapū names list tab, Te Rārangi Ingoa Iwi Hapū, with Kāi Tahu as an example
6. Ngā Kaupapa Hou with information and contacts around making recommendations for new terms
Research Consultation with Māori

The Research Consultation with Māori Policy provides the framework for an appropriate and mandated consultation process with Māori for research. It is helpful for managing the consultation process. It acknowledges the needs and aspirations of Ngāi Tahu, and encorporates Māori development and benefit in Ngāi Tahu Vision 2025.

Māori Data

Te Whata
Te Whata is a data platform tailored specifically by iwi for iwi. Te Whata is for iwi members, technicians and leaders – designers and users of data. We want to be able to tell our own narratives according to our own priorities and world views. Te Whata has been designed with this in mind.
Te Mana Raraunga
Our data, our sovereignty, our future. This vision drove the establishment of Te Mana Raraunga as the Māori Data Sovereignty Network. We advocate for Māori rights and interests in data to be protected as the world moves into an increasingly open data environment.

Māori Kupu - Atlas

Atlas of plant material and fibres from New Zealand and the Pacific (from the Otago University archaeology programme)

Contents

coconut (Cocos nucifera L.)
harakeke (New Zealand flax, swamp flax, Phormium tenax J.R.Forst. & G.Forst.)
houhere (lacebark, Hoheria populnea A.Cunn.)
kāretu (Hierochloe redolens (Vahl) Roem. et Schult.)
kiekie (Freycinetia baueriana Endl.)
kuta (bamboo spike sedge, Eleocharis sphacelata R.Br.)
neinei (Dracophyllum elegantissimum S.Venter) (mountain neinei, pineapple tree, Dracophyllum traversii Hook.f.)
nīkau (Rhopalostylis sapida H.Wendl. & Drude)
pandanus (screw pine, Pandanus L.f.)
kāpūngāwhā (lake clubrush, Schoenoplectus tabernaemontani (C.C.Gmel) Palla)
pīngao (golden sand sedge, Desmoschoenus spiralis (A.Rich.) Hook.f.)
raupō (bulrush, Typha orientalis C.Presl)
tikumu (silvery cotton plant, Celmisia semicordata Petrie)
tī kōuka (cabbage tree, Cordyline australis (Forst.f.) Endl.)
tī ngahere (forest cabbage tree, Cordyline banksii Hook.f.)
tōī (mountain cabbage tree, Cordyline indivisa (Forst.f.) Steud.)
wharariki (New Zealand flax, mountain flax, Phormium cookianum Le Jol.)
wī (silver tussock, Poa cita Edgar )

Kāi Tahu Papatipu Rūnaka

Kāi Tahu Papatipu Rūnaka

Aukaha (a manawhenua group)

Te Rūnanga o Waihao Inc

Te Rūnanga o Moeraki Inc

Kati Huirapa Rūnaka ki Puketeraki

Ōtakou Runaka

Hokonui Rūnanga

Social Media

Social media

Creative Commons

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Māori Dictionaries

Te Aka Dictionary
Māori dictionary. The overall aim of this website is to support learners of Māori. New entries and additional meanings continue to be added.
Ngata Dictionary
The H. M. Ngata English-Māori Dictionary is the first dictionary to offer an extensive selection of English to Māori headwords, illustrating their use.

Related Subject Guides

Related Subject Guides

M āori Studies

Te Ao Māori | Mātauranga Māori (Ara / Te Pūkenga)

History

Surveying

Geology

Social Media

Māori Centre / Te Huku Mātauraka

Māori Archaeology Network

Māori Font

Te Reo at Otago

Macrons - be consistent

aa | ä | ā | ā͞

Reo

Taonga / Taoka - Treasure (North & South Island dialects)

Keywords

#oceania #pasifica #oceania #indigenous #native #māori #pacifika

Aotearoa's Archaeological Past

Te Reo Place Names

The NZAA ArchSite

Each red dot represents an archaeological site labelled using the Te Reo place name or a site associated with Māori but with the respective English name.
Have a go and zoom around to areas you know and love!

Compiled by Simon Bickler, Benjamin Jones, and Patricia Pillay (2021)

Ngāi Tahu Kareao (Archives)

Koiwi Tangata

Collection of Koiwi Tangata Policies

National Repatriation Policy for Kōiwi Tangata Policy and Associated Burial Taonga within Aotearoa. Museums Aotearoa. (1921)

Kōiwi Tangata - Human Remains. New Zealand Historic Places Trust. (2009)

TRONT - Kōiwi Tangata (Ngāi Tahu)
Te Wawata o Ngāi Tahu e pa ana ki Ngā Tāonga Kōiwi o Ngā Tūpuna
The Policy of Ngāi Tahu Concerning the Human Remains of our Ancestors. 1993 (amended 2019)
Kōiwi Tangata Human Remains - Heritage New Zealand Pohere Taonga
The Koiwi Tangata/Human Remains Guidelines have been prepared by Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga for use by staff, heritage administrators and consultants, archaeologists, the police, and the general public. (2014)

Indigenous Rock Art

Rock Art Sites & NZ Legislation

Te Ana Ngāi Tahu Māori Rock Art
At Te Ana our role is to act as the guardians of Māori rock art in the South Island on behalf of our local iwi Ngāi Tahu. All revenue is used to protect and revitalize our treasured rock art.
Rock Studies Bibliographic Database
The Rock Art Studies Bibliographic Database compiles literature about rock art into a searchable, online bibliography, providing free access to more than 40,000 citations.
Rock Art Australia
Australian rock art is part of an ongoing culture and is widely accepted as one of the world’s most enduring cultural traditions. Rock art reflects humankind’s rich spiritual and cultural heritage and has great significance to its creators and their descendants.
Peterborough Petroglyphs National Historic Site of Canada
The rock carvings are covered by a protective building, and there are interpretive plaques and guides at the site. Photographing and videotaping the rock carvings is not permitted for spiritual reasons, and dogs are not allowed inside any of the buildings.
The American Rock Art Research Association
(ARARA) is a diverse community of members with wide-ranging interests who are dedicated to rock art preservation, research, and education in order to communicate to a broad audience the significance of rock art as a non-renewable resource of enduring cultural value.
Section 45 Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014
Section 45 of the HNZPT Act 2014 requires that a person must only be approved by Heritage New Zealand to carry out an activity under an authority if Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga is satisfied that they meet the criteria outlined in the HNZPT Act. via. NZ National Library.
Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993 Maori Land Act 1993
The legislation under which we operate, plus find our judgments for the Māori Land Court and the Māori Appellate Court.
Protected Objects Act 1975
We administer the Protected Objects Act 1975 (formerly known as the Antiquities Act) which regulates: the export of protected New Zealand objects the illegal export and import of protected New Zealand and foreign objects the sale, trade and ownership of taonga tūturu, including what to do if you find a taonga or Māori artefact.