Planning Studies: Newspapers
Magazines and Newspaper Databases
Newspapers are great primary sources of information about societal sentiments and events. Newspaper articles, photographs, cartoons, and advertisements can show:
- How people reacted to certain events in history
- What governments and local councils did and how society felt about their actions
- Societal attitudes towards other countries or people
- Reports of crime
- Economic conditions, including job and product advertisements
- Cultural and religious events, conflicts, and sentiments
Aotearoa, Australia, & Pacific
Australia & New Zealand Newstream
Provides access to leading Australian newspapers, including: The Australian, The Weekend Australian, The Courier-Mail, The Daily Telegraph, The Advertiser, The Herald-Sun, The Mercury, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Sun-Herald, The Illawarra Mercury, The Newcastle Herald, The Central Coast Herald and more.
Australia/New Zealand Reference CentreArticles about current events, business, politics and more from New Zealand and Australian newspapers, magazines, reference books and more.
National Library AustraliaThe site has been developed as part of the Australian Cooperative Digitisation Project and one of the Project's key aims was to ensure access to and preservation of the selected titles through a process of preservation microfilming and digitisation.
Index New ZealandAbstracts and descriptions for articles from a huge range of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers since the 1950s.
The Koori MailDigital collection of 20 years of the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.
New Zealand Gazette Te Kāhiti o AotearoaThe New Zealand Gazette is the official newspaper of the New Zealand government. It is an authoritative journal of constitutional record and contains official commercial and government notifications that are required by legislation to be published.
NewztextArchive of full-text articles from many key NZ news and business publications. Newztext is both a research tool and a long-term archive and is updated daily. Produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from publishers.
Niupepa: Maori newspapersThe niupepa collection consists of over 17,000 pages taken from 34 separate periodicals. It is based on "Niupepa 1842-1933", a microfiche collection produced by the Alexander Turnbull Library. 70% of the collection is written solely in Māori, 27% is bilingual and about 3% is written in English.
Otago Daily Times Online EditionA free online source of local, national, and international news. A multimedia platform allows users to comment on stories, vote in polls,and submit photographs and stories. The site includes an 'On campus' section and home-pages for local towns.- Pacific Islands News & InformationA full-text database of news and information resources of the Pacific Islands. Comprises articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, bulletins and reports.
Papers PastMore than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.
The Tasmanian MailJuly 7, 1877 to March 31, 1921. A weekly journal for Tasmania of politics, literature, science, agriculture, news and notes. The newspaper includes illustrations from 1888 to 1921.
TroveFind over 398,954,968 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.
British Newspapers
United Kingdom & Ireland
British Cartoon ArchiveThe British Cartoon Archive holds collections by over three hundred cartoonists. Many of these have been digitised and catalogued, and can be found among the 170,000 digitised items on the BCA website.
British Library NewspapersBritish Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers.Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
Includes digitised 18th Century newspapers from several UK Libraries.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website.
The Guardian and the ObserverThe complete digital archive of The Observer, 1791 - 2003 and, The Guardian, 1821 - 2003.
Irish NewspapersLists and links to current Irish newspaper websites.- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish TimesThe complete digital archive of The Irish Times (1859 - 2019) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958).
The IrishIrishCentral is the leading Irish digital media company in North America. Our mission is to be the trusted source for information related to Ireland and the Irish - be it news, history, genealogy, travel, or cultural information.National Library of Ireland: Newspaper Database
This database is a listing of newspaper titles held in the National Library of Ireland, including information on the latest date available of current titles.
Nineteenth-Century Serials EditionAn online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837); Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833); Northern Star (1838-1852); Leader (1850-1860); English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864); Tomahawk (1867-1870); Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).- The ScotsmanThe complete digital archive of The Scotsman from 1817-1950.
- Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection NewspapersThe newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Welsh Newspapers OnlineA free online resource from the National Library of Wales that allows users to search and access digitised newspaper publications from 1804-1919.
Americas Newspapers
Americas
The British ColonistThe leading paper for the province of British Columbia until the 1890s. This website contains all the issues from 1858 to December 1950 (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants).Brooklyn Newstand
Free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper published from 1841-1955), as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published 1890-1931.California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains 564,994 issues comprising 6,026,540 pages and 42,398,323 articles. The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.- This database offers access to the full-text of Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers including The Globe and Mail.
The Chronicle of Higher EducationThe Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s (USA) largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights.Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
EmolTop news website based in Chile. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.
Georgia Historic NewspapersThe Georgia Historic Newspapers database is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia as part of Georgia HomePlace.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press CollectionHistoric Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections45 unique digital newspaper titles, including digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields.La Tercera
La Tercera, formerly known as La Tercera de la Hora, is a daily newspaper published in Santiago, Chile and owned by Copesa. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.- The complete digital archive of The Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 24 years ago.
- Provides historical content for: The New York Times from 1851 - four years ago.
NYS Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper ProjectJewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh, from the 1890s to 2010. Includes: the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-2010), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).
PublimetroPublimetro is a newspaper that is published and distributed in Latin America, in Chile, Colombia, Brazil, Mexico, Peru, and Puerto Rico. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.- This database enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
- The complete digital archive of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 18 years ago.
Middle East
Near & Middle East
ABYZ Near and Middle East News Media GuideA directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
Al Jazeera | Middle EastAl Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. The network challenges established narratives and gives a global audience an alternative voice, one that put the people back at the centre of the news agenda.
BBC News | Middle EastBBC News stories on events in Asia. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.Historical Jewish Press
A collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. The database includes digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout.
Africa Newspapers
Africa
- ABYZ Africa News Media GuideA directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
- Al Jazeera | AfricaAl Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. The network challenges established narratives and gives a global audience an alternative voice, one that put the people back at the centre of the news agenda.
- BBC News | AfricaBBC News stories on events in Africa. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.
Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.