Skip to Main Content

The Otago LibGuides are changing! The system will undergo a major update from 17 June to 15 July. You can learn more by taking a look at our LibGuides prototype here.

Microbiology and Immunology: Postgrad Research

Library Services for Postgraduate Students

Check out our Postgraduate Introduction to Library Services and Resources guide for resources on writing your thesis, search strategies, research data management, researcher profiles, impact metrics, getting published, postgrad workshops, and more!

ResearchRabbit

ResearchRabbit is an innovative "citation-based literature mapping tool" available online. Optimise your time searching for references as you start planning your essay, minor project, or literature review.

What is Research Rabbit? A quick guide from James Cook University.

Writing Your Thesis

New Otago publications - Microbiology & Immunology

Finding Open Access Resources

open accessOpen Access is a new model of scholarly communication based on the principle that research should be available freely online, for anyone to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, link to etc. There are Open Access Journals, Books, Databases and Archives.

Finding Patents

Find out how many articles have cited your patent.

Check out the Patent Library Guide for information on searching for patents in databases and in patent office databases and for what support with patents is provided at the University of Otago.

Health Sciences Library Historical Collection

The Health Sciences Library has a Historical Collection located on the top floor of the Library. This collection includes a range of medical texts from the 17th to 19th centuries and the earliest copies of the NZ Medical Journal from the 19th century. Highlights include the 17th century anatomical pop-up book Pinax microcosmographicus, magnificent anatomical and surgical atlases from the 18th and 19th centuries and most editions of Gray's Anatomy, including the 1858 first edition.

More historic material from the Health Sciences Library is located at the Hocken Library and in Special Collections at the Central Library.

ResBaz Aotearoa 2024

8-12 July 2024: Free online digital research skills workshops taught by researchers. Everything from managing research data to programming languages. All active researchers in Aotearoa research community are welcome!

Library Postgraduate Sessions via Zoom - 2024, Semester 1

These Library Information Sessions are provided specifically for postgraduate students. All sessions will be held on a Tuesday at 10:30 via Zoom - check below for Semester 1 dates.  For more information and to register book now via this link 

 

9 April 10:30 - 11:30 Thesis Information For new thesis students:
covers preparation, copyright
compliance, submitting,
and depositing.
16 April 10:30 - 11:30 Introduction to Effective 
Search Strategies
Learn how to search recommended
databases for relevant
literature, and manage
your results.
23 April 10:30 - 12 Introduction to Research
Data Management
Make sense of the complexity
around data storage, description,
re-use and archiving. 
7 May 10:30 - 12 Introduction to Getting
Published
Practical tips for postgraduates.
Learn how to develop a publishing
strategy and identify the right journals
for submission. 
21 May 10:30 - 11:30 Introduction to Researcher
Profiles
Building online profiles to promote
your research, and yourself.
 
11 June 10:30 - 12 Introduction to Research
Impact & Metrics
Understand tools that explain
impact factors and ranking for
what to read, and where to publish. 

Finding Grey Literature

The term 'grey literature' is used to describe materials not published commercially or indexed by major databases. The Grey Literature In Health Library Guide discusses, and helps you find, relevant grey literature for research in health and medicine. Look through the tabs to find the information you need; General Sources, Conference Proceedings, Institutional Repositories, Clinical Trials, Guidelines and Statistics.

Finding Theses & Dissertations

Keeping up to date with research

Search Alerts 

Most research databases allow you to create alerts that will push information to you based on a search you've set up previously. This could be a search for relevant terms/keywords, an author name or a journal specialising in your research area.

 

 

RSS Feeds

An RSS feed reader (aka a news aggregator) is an automated way to keep up-to-date with new information posted online, including news sites, blogs, podcasts, and other media channels.

To use, sign-up to a feed reader (some popular ones are listed below), and then search for content within your reader to subscribe/add it to your feed. Alternatively, when you are on a website, look for the RSS icon to add the web address or link to your reader.

Finding Research Repositories

A research repository is a place to store an institution's intellectual research outputs. Try searching these sites to find more research:

Finding Conference Papers

Conference papers are an excellent source of current research, best practices and new innovations in a research area.  For a start, search the Web using the name of the conference, meeting or symposium.

Full-text conference papers may be hard to obtain; sometimes abstracts are the only items available online. If a full paper is not available online, you could contact the author and request a copy. Also, the Library may be able to borrow or purchase published proceedings -- talk to your Subject Librarian.