LibGuides: Microbiology and Immunology: Home

Nau mai, haere mai! Welcome to your subject guide for M&I | Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate

This guide will provide you with access to a range of key library and information resources to aid your studies or research in Microbiology & Immunology | Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate. You can navigate using the tabs across the top.

You can make an appointment to see your Subject Librarian if you'd like some support with your research. This guide is always a work in progress, so we welcome feedback and suggestions for additional content.

Generative AI for students

Want to learn more about Generative Artificial Intelligence (Gen AI)? View the new Gen AI Library guide.

Gen AI for Otago students

LIBRARY 101

LIBRARY 101 is a series of in-person workshops that introduce you to Library skills and services.

Library Postgraduate Sessions via Zoom - 2024, Semester 2

These Library Information Sessions are provided specifically for postgraduate students. All Semester 1 sessions will be held on a Tuesday at 10:30 via Zoom - check below for Semester 2 dates. For more information and to register book now via this link

13 August	10:30 - 11:30	Thesis Information	For new thesis students: covers preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing.
20 August	10:30 - 11:30	Introduction to Effective Search Strategies	Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results.
27 August	10:30 - 12	Introduction to Research Data Management	Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving.
10 September	10:30 - 12	Introduction to Getting Published	Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission.
24 September	10:30 - 11:30	Introduction to Researcher Profiles	Building online profiles to promote your research, and yourself.
1 October	10:30 - 12	Introduction to Research Impact & Metrics	Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish.

Useful quick links

PubMed
A citation database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. The database includes more than 5,000 international publishers including Elsevier (ScienceDirect), Springer, Wiley-Blackwell, Taylor & Francis, and Sage.
JoVe - Immunology and Infection
JoVE Immunology and Infection includes methods and techniques for studying the immune system, mechanisms of infection, biological responses to pathogens, and therapeutic agents for treating immunological disease.
Current Protocols in Cytometry
Current Protocols in Cytometry is a "best practices" collection that distills and organizes the absolute latest techniques from the top cytometry labs and specialists worldwide.
Toxline
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International (OMA) Online
An international source of chemical and microbiological methods, with many countries and organizations contributing their expertise to standards development and method validation. For access details please email: eresources.library@otago.ac.nz