Surveying: External sources for Whenua Māori
Kā Huru Manu
Use this online cultural map of the Ngāi Tahu rohe to discover traditional place names and their histories: https://www.kahurumanu.co.nz/atlas
Popup panels provide information on selected areas and include reference lists of sources used.
Māori Maps
An open online resource where you can explore Māori placenames, land blocks and districts, or search for hapū, marae, iwi, and more: https://maorimaps.com/
Iwi Websites
You can find Whenua Māori information on iwi websites. Christchurch City Libraries has a guide linking to some of these: Iwi-Tribal Websites
Tangata Whenua Place Names
Tangata whenua place names of Aotearoa New Zealand pre European settlement (maps)
From Land Information New Zealand| Toitū Te Whenua
(Consists of the Map and an index to the Place names. The index includes information about place name origins and original Māori place names where known).
Waitangi Tribunal Reports
An online repository of the WAI reports, such as the WAI-27 for Ngāi Tahu. WAI reports contain a lot of historical information from research and oral accounts. You can search for the full reports and related documents by WAI number or use the map to find reports available by area. There are also bibliographies available to browse by author and region etc.
Note: most documents are available online. Those that are not may be restricted and may incur a fee if requested. Email requests to WT_Requests@justice.govt.nz
Archives New Zealand
Archives New Zealand has a useful guide to locating Whenua and Māori Land records in their collection.
For in-person help visit Archives NZ Dunedin office at 556 George Street, weekday mornings 9am- 1pm
Index New Zealand
A National Library of New Zealand database that indexes NZ newspaper, magazine articles and journal articles. Good for recent historical information, such as Takaparawhau / Bastion Point, Seabed and Foreshore etc. Note: not all results are full-text, so use Library Search | Ketu to find the source title or ask your subject librarian for help. Or Search across all the National Library Collections (you can limit to online resources only)
