The term 'grey literature' (GL) is used to describe materials not published commercially or indexed by major databases. While GL may be of questionable quality, it has been shown to have an impact in research, teaching and learning. Sometimes, GL is the only source of information for specific research questions. While some GL may be published eventually, and may be easier to find, sometimes it never is.
GL may not go through a peer-review process, and its authority must be scrutinised. For more information on how to evaluate resources, check out the Journals & Databases page on this Subject Guide, and in particular the boxes; ‘Assess your findings’ & ‘Evaluating information: additional resources’.
Traditional sources of grey literature include, but are not limited to:
In essence, grey literature is:
'New' forms of grey literature include:
Advice on ways to find grey literature:
This box has used information adapted from the 'Grey literature in health: Home page' of a library guide that was put together by my Health Sciences Librarian colleagues, who in turn referred to the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' grey literature information page as a source for content.
The International Water Association (IWA) has published a new open access journal Blue-Green Systems.
Blue-Green Systems brings together cutting edge research on sustainable, energy efficient and environmentally responsible water use in cities and their regions, including innovative approaches such as Sponge Cities, Low Impact Development, Nature Based Solutions and Water Sensitive Urban Design.
Elsevier’s parent company, RELX, has launched a curated collection of 50 book chapters and journal articles to support research into the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) marking Earth Day’s 50th anniversary. This open access special issue is devoted to sustainability, and covers a range of topics, including; energy, food science, transportation and waste.
Unpaywall is an open database of over 20 million free scholarly articles. Add their extension to your browser to access free versions of paywalled content that you come across while researching online. This tool will be especially useful to you once you finish studying and no longer have access to big publisher's subscriptions. Read more about this initiative by clicking here.
An RSS feed reader (aka a news aggregator) is an automated way to keep up-to-date with new information posted online, including news sites, blogs, podcasts, and other media channels.
To use, sign-up to a feed reader (some popular ones are listed below), and then search for content within your reader to subscribe/add it to your feed. Alternatively, when you are on a website, look for the RSS icon to add the web address or link to your reader.
Curlie is the largest human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a passionate, global community of volunteer editors. Historically known as the Open Directory Project (ODP) and DMOZ, it was founded in the spirit of the Open Source movement, becoming the only major directory that is 100% free.
The directory has hundreds of resource links for Geomatics, including links to manufacturers and researchers in the Geomatics field.