Surveying: Books
Selected Surveying textbooks to get you started
Cadastre: principles and practice by ISBN: 9780620828789Publication Date: 2020Available in print at the Science Library: TA538.S68 F57 2020
GNSS survey & engineering handbook for surveyors and survey engineers by ISBN: 9789082581829Publication Date: 2017Available in print at the Science Library: G109.5 .L45 2017
Remote Sensing of the Cryosphere by ISBN: 9781118368855Publication Date: 2015Ebook
Also available in print at the Science Library: GB2401.72.R42 R47 2015
Surveying for Engineers by ISBN: 9780230221574Publication Date: 2010-03-17The fifth edition of this classic textbook sets out the essential techniques needed for a solid grounding in the surveying. The popular and trusted textbook covers the traditional topics such as levelling, measurement of angles, measuring distances, and how to carry out traversing and compute coordinates, as well as the latest technological advances. It is packed with clear illustrations, exercises and worked examples, making it both a comprehensive study aid for students and a reliable reference tool for practitioners. This text is aimed at students studying surveying as either part of a civil engineering, building or construction course or as a separate discipline. It is also useful for students who undertake surveying as an elective subject and is a useful resource for practising surveyors. New to this Edition: - The latest developments in Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) particularly the introduction of network RTK and OS Net and their applications - Recent developments in survey instruments, methods and digital technologies including image processing with total stations and laser planners, developments in data processing and integration and updates on Ordnance Survey mapping products
Surveying Theory and Practice by ISBN: 0070157901Publication Date: 1981 (6th edition)Available in print at the Science Library: TA545.SY58 1981
Older editions available from Storage.- Fundamentals of survey measurement and analysis by ISBN: 0258968710Publication Date: 1974Available in print at the Science Library: TA549.CS16
Ebook collections
- Cambridge CoreCross-searchable functionality across all Cambridge collections (eBooks, Journals etc.). It is multi-disciplinary and provides full-text access to subscribed content.
- GeoScienceWorld eBooksA multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the Earth Sciences.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralMulti-disciplinary database, includes a number of Science & Technology collections.
- Routledge Handbooks OnlineMulti-disciplinary database, includes collections on Built Environment & Engineering.
- SAGE Knowledge eBooksIncludes a collection of eBooks about Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences.
- Wiley Online LibraryMulti-disciplinary database, includes eBooks journals and reference works.
Open Textbook Collections
- BC Open TextbooksMulti-disciplinary open access textbooks, includes eBooks on Earth and Ocean Sciences & Engineering.
- MERLOTOpen access learning portal that includes links to a number of Science and Technology textbooks.
- Open Textbook LibraryMulti-disciplinary open access textbooks, includes eBooks on Information Systems, Property Law, and Earth Sciences & Geography.
Featured Open Textbook
C. C. J. M. Tiberius (Author), H. van der Marel (Author), René Reudink (Author), Freek van Leijen (Author), Open Textbook Library (Distributor)
This book provides an introduction, at academic level, into the field of surveying and mapping. The book has been compiled based on hand-outs and readers written for the third-year course Surveying and Mapping, in the bachelor program Civil Engineering at Delft University of Technology. This book covers a wide range of measurement techniques, from land surveying, GPS/GNSS and remote sensing to the associated data processing, the underlying coordinate reference systems, as well as the analysis and visualization of the acquired geospatial information
eBook, 2021
English
TU Delft Open, [Place of publication not identified], 2021
Reference resources
These resources are reliable sources of definitions, and contain information to help you get started with an unfamiliar topic.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online (Britannica Academic) Contains the text of the print edition plus thousands of additional articles and images, natural-language searching, and A-Z browsing. Britannica Online is continually updated to provide the most current information possible.
- SpringerReference A broad collection of electronic major reference works (encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, bibliographies and data collections) updated and peer reviewed by leading academics and scientists.
- Oxford Reference Cross-search two collections: Oxford Quick Reference (Core Dictionaries with short-entry answers) and Oxford Reference Library (In-depth Encyclopedias and Companions)
A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering by
An A to Z of construction, surveying, and civil engineering terms covering all core aspects, this book provides a one-stop reference for construction students and professionals.
ISBN: 9780198832485Publication Date: 2020-03-06
A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering by
This popular dictionary, formerly published as the Penguin Dictionary of Electronics, has been extensively revised and updated, providing clear, concise, and jargon-free A-Z entries on key terms, theories, and practices in the areas of electronics and electrical science.
ISBN: 9780198725725Publication Date: 2018-08-21
A Dictionary of Geography by
Covering all aspects of physical and human geography, this dictionary is an essential guide for students at all levels. It has been fully revised and updated, and includes more than 400 new entries, recommended web links for many entries, and over 15 new illustrations.
ISBN: 9780199680856Publication Date: 2015-05-12
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This leading dictionary covers all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added and include expanded coverage of planetary geology and Earth-observing satellites.
ISBN: 9780198839033Publication Date: 2020-03-09
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by
This dictionary covers all aspects of mechanical engineering, including thermodynamics, heat transfer, combustion, stress analysis, design, manufacturing, materials mechanics, dynamics, vibrations, and control. It provides authoritative guidance for students, practising engineers, and others needing definitions of mechanical engineering terms.
ISBN: 9780198832102Publication Date: 2019-09-04
A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units by
This comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.
ISBN: 9780198605225Publication Date: 2002-10-26
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability by
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability consists of over 300 A to Z entries relating to these subjects, expanding on Oxford's coverage in works such as A Dictionary of Environment & Conservation. It includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fuelled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.
ISBN: 9780199654581Publication Date: 2013
Finding books in the library
The University Library uses a classification system called Library of Congress (LC) to organise books.
When you look up a book on the library catalogue ‘Library Search | Ketu’, take note of the given ‘call number’ to find where the book is on the library shelves.
To find a book, match the call number to the signs posted at the end of the library bookshelves, and to the number sticker on the spine, or on the front cover, of the book.
Surveying books could be held at any number of libraries, including Central, Science, Law, Storage, and at the Hocken Collections. When you search for Surveying books using Library Search | Ketu, you should also take note of the location of the book.
Have a look at the other tabs in this box for more information on searching the library catalogue, and check-out this short video on How to find a book on the library shelves to learn more about locating books in the library.
Use Library Search | Ketu to access all material that the library has purchased or subscribes to, including:
- Print material (e.g. books, journals, magazines & newspapers)
- Electronic resources (e.g. Ebooks, conference papers, Ejournals & journal articles)
- AV material (e.g. documentaries & music)
- Local theses and other local research deposited in ‘Our Archive’ repository
Scroll to the bottom of the search results to link through to make an interloan request if we don’t hold something you want.
Take advantage of the features including; filtering to material type, and use the ‘advanced search’ option to narrow your results.
Check out this short introductory video: Using Library Search | Ketu
Refer to this: Online guide about using Library Search | Ketu for more detailed information.
Because Library Search | Ketu is a vast database, use the filters that are listed down the left hand side of the search screen to help narrow your results. You can ‘tweak’ your results in the following ways:
- Availability – e.g. refine by something being available online, or available in the library
- Type – e.g. narrow your search to journal articles, books, Ebooks, theses, etc.
- Date - tweak the date range that items are available, if you want research from a specific time frame
- Library – refine by which Library the resource is located
- Subject – include or exclude particular subjects
- Journal Title – refine your results by looking just at one particular periodical
If you are finding that you are getting too many results, or results that are not relevant, click into the record of a result that you know is useful, and take a closer look at the information about this resource.
Look at the ‘Details’ section of the record.
Take particular note of the ‘Subjects’ section.
This section uses ‘Subject Headings’ which are an example of ‘controlled vocabulary’. Controlled vocabulary is standardised language that is used to organise information, and is a way to both retrieve library records, and to link library records that are on same topic.
Either click on the 'Subject Headings' to find related records, or use this language in your subsequent searches for better results.
The ‘Description’ section of a library record can also give you ideas for keywords to use in your searches.
Sometimes the description is a list of chapter titles, sometimes it is more detailed and informative; either way the language used might give you some ideas for how to conduct a more effective search.
For information about borrowing books, take a look at this library webpage.
It will help answer any question you might have about:
- Using the self-check machines
- Renewing books
- Requesting books, book chapter and article scans
- Interloans
- Recalls
- Borrowing entitlements
- Library fine rates
And, click here for information about paying library fines.
Library staff are more than happy to assist you with any queries you might have about any of this information.
Check out our library help page for more information on getting help, library FAQs, and a link to chat with a staff member.
Please know that there are no silly or stupid questions, and that we are here to support you to use the library.