Theatre Studies: Voice & Movement
Voice Databases
- Alexander Street : Body & Voice Exercise
MICHAEL LUGERING: Voice and body exercises during these classes, the actor moves through a series of exercises. - New York Film Academy : Voice
People are noise making machines. It is helpful for an actor to understand the mechanics of their voice in order to train most effectively. - My Voice Exercise
Actors have to be able to articulate their voices and speech along with their facial expressions as well as their entire body movement. - Alexander Street : A Dynamic Voice WorkoutSusan Leigh: Warming up your voice on a regular basis can improve your vocal quality and capacity.
The Year of the King : An Actor's Diary and Sketchbook by Call Number: PN2598.S47 SH97 (Central)the reader is given a front-row seat to Sher's physical and mental preparation - or rather transformation - for his landmark performance as "the bottled spider."
The moving voice : the integration of voice and movement studies by Call Number: PN4162 .M685 (2009)ISBN: 9781934269558Struggling with abstraction: a treatise on sound and movement work rooted in expressive action: bridging the gap between voice, movement & acting training.
Actor training the Laban way : an integrated approach to voice, speech, and movement by Call Number: PN2071.M6 A719 (2008)An approach to understanding physical and vocal movement that will enable readers to discover how to maximize their potential.
Stanislavsky in America : an actor's workbook by Call Number: eBookThis fascinating study by a leading theatre critic and practitioner provides hundreds of original acting exercises.
Method acting reconsidered : theory, practice, future by Call Number: eBookThis volume explores Method Acting from a broad perspective, focusing on a point of equilibrium between the principles of the Method and its relationship to other theories of performance.
The actor's guide to creating a character : William Esper teaches the Meisner technique by Call Number: eBookEsper's training builds on Sanford Meisner's legendary exercises, a world-renowned technique that Esper further developed through his long association with Meisner.
Movement Databases
- Alexander Street : Movement for the ActorAs a theatre artist, you want to create characters that speak and move in compelling ways. These are students from North Western University
- National Theatre : Movement Direction
Vanessa Ewan leads this movement direction masterclass, using techniques to explore physicality and enhance character transformation. - New York Film Academy - MovementOur acting resources will help guide you through the many demands of acting for film with Q&A’s and interviews, how-to guides, and articles on the latest trends in the field.
- National Theatre : Actors Warm UpA warm-up that is suitable for actors to do before auditions, rehearsals or performances. It will work your body in different ways.
The Expressive Actor Integrated Voice, Movement and Acting Training by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781136449000Publication Date: 2013The Expressive Actor presents a foundational, preparatory training method, using movement to unlock the entire acting process.
Actor movement : expression of the physical being : a movement handbook for actors by Call Number: PN2071.M6 E94 2015ISBN: 9781408134412Publication Date: 2015"Actor Movement offers enabling tools to explore, examine and develop movement techniques to fine-tune the actor's intuitive physical response"
Movement for actors by Call Number: PN2071.M6 PV32ISBN: 9781581152333Publication Date: 2002Movement for actors offers a diverse collection of essays from renowned movement teachers and directors on the physical skills needed for the stage and screen.
Database Tutorials
- Database Search Tips PDF
Two page PDF detailing keyword and boolean search tips, Google Scholar boolean search tips, and reverse citation searching. - Electronic Access HelpIf you have any queries about our electronic resources (databases, e-journals or e-books), please contact the library using the form on this web page.
- Interloan ServiceThe Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
- Scan RequestThis video shows how to request a PDF scan of a book section or print journal from any Otago library.
Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.