Performing Arts: Dance
Dance
Image by Marco Massimo from Pixabay
Dance Studies
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Research many aspects of performing arts, including theatre, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, & storytelling. Full-text access to more than 130 magazines & journals, and indexes articles from 400 more. Most articles listed are post-1996. - Alexander Street (Dance)
Alexander Street are curated, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research. - SPORTDiscus - Ebscohost
Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of kinesiology, fitness, health, sport studies, and dance. - URL@ Dance Resources
A dance is work 10,000 words. A collection of resources related to dance-based in NZ. - NZ on Screen
Video interviews with, biography, and details of cast and crews of Aotearoa film productions. - Royal New Zealand Ballet
Based in Wellington, the Royal New Zealand Ballet (RNZB) is a company of dynamic dancers from diverse backgrounds, performing a broad repertoire for audiences at home and abroad, whilst continuing to build a style that is unique to Aotearoa. - DELRdi: Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index
The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present. Otago University has access to Taylor & Francis. - New Zealand Film Commission
Supporting the vibrant screen industry of Aotearoa New Zealand through making and promoting New Zealand films, attracting international productions and national recognition. - Julliard Performing Arts School
The Juilliard School, founded in 1905, is a world leader in performing arts education. Juilliard’s mission is to provide the highest caliber of artistic education for gifted musicians, dancers, and actors from around the world so that they may achieve their fullest potential as artists, leaders, and global citizens. - An American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490 to 1920
A collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. The list begins with a rare late fifteenth-century source, Les basses danses de Marguerite d'Autriche (c.1490) and ends with Ella Gardner's 1929 Public dance halls, their regulation and place in the recreation of adolescents. - The George Balanchine Foundation
The mission of The George Balanchine Foundation is to utilize the Balanchine legacy to advance the development of dance and its allied arts in the United States and throughout the world on behalf of the dance community at large. - CriticalDance
CriticalDance was founded in December 1999 by a volunteer community of dance professionals, teachers, writers, presenters and enthusiasts, to fulfil a commitment to support all aspects of dance, including sponsorships, promotions and coverage. - Tanznetz..de (German) Dance
tanznetz.de is an interactive journal for artistic stage dance, is an exchange forum for those interested in dance and organizers.
Cultural Dances
Dance Styles
- Facts and Details :
A database on World Topics, Asian Topics, China, Japan, Southeast Asia, Indonesia, India, Central Asia and Russia. - The Royal Moscow Ballet
Each year, the company give at least 50 performances from its classical and contemporary repertoire on the best stages in Europe visiting countries such as Italy, France, Switzerland, Poland, Spain, Germany, Austria and now Ireland. The theatre has also represented its art in Israel, the Canary Islands, China, Korea, Japan and Sri Lanka, - Pacific Dance New Zealand
Pacific Dance New Zealand fosters and encourages the development of the Pacific dance sector of New Zealand. We are involved in running dance workshops, conferences, community and professional events promoting Pacific dance in New Zealand. - Matatini
To foster, develop and protect kapa haka in the pursuit of excellence. We foster, develop and protect traditional Māori performing arts in the pursuit of excellence. We fund and support regional kapa haka development, and produce new kapa haka shows. - Hellenica World
Greek dance is a very old tradition, being referred to by authors such as Plato, Aristotle, Plutarch and Lucian. There are different styles and interpretations from all of the islands and surrounding mainland areas. Each region formed its own choreography and style to fit in with their own ways. - Indian Raga
MIT-founded digital arts education startup IndianRaga provides online education courses in the performing arts with instructor assistance. We operate in over 40 global cities to help artists learn, perform and shine. - Natya Sutra Online (Free)
These free videos aim to introduce our audience to a wide range of esoteric disciplines, endemic to India’s shores. This is part of our pledge to revitalize the Indian Classical ecosystem. - Te Hui Ahurei ā Tūhoe 2018 Kapa Haka
'Te Hui Ahurei a Tuhoe' is a festival that was created in 1971 by John Rangihau for the Iwi nation in Ngai Tuhoe. All of the kapa haka teams that come of the Iwi nation perform to celebrate all the years spent on interacting with each other. The festival is held in Ruatoki biannually. The Tuhoe Ahurei committee is led by Pou Temara and Turuhira Hare. - AIST Dance Video Database
AIST Dance Video Database (AIST Dance DB) is a shared database containing original street dance videos with copyright-cleared dance music. This is the first large-scale shared database focusing on street dances to promote academic research regarding Dance Information Processing. - Israeli Dances
Enter any name or part of a name - you can search by any of the following: Dance name - Dance translation - Choreographer - Singer - Composer - Lyricist.
Search hint: If you're not sure about the correct spelling of a name, just put in a part of the word. Eg Kol Nedarai - Kol Ned, Ofra Haza - Ofra.
Social Media
TikTok Dance Crazes Instagram Spotify
Made you look Rasa School of Dance (Dunedin) Hip Hop Dance Playlist
Miss Maisel (The Bop) World Dance Academy Original Rock N' Roll Playlist
Fancy like itsslavik (Vik White) Waltz (Ballroom Standard)
Stay Twitter
Beggin' Dance Videos NZ Dance Co. Swing Patrol London
Facebook YouTube Talent Management
Te Matatini Panache Star DanceSport bgt Actors, Models & Talent
Pacific Dance NZ DanceSport Total Diamond Entertainment
Scottish Professional Dance West Coast Swing The Human Agency
Boogie Storm Audition - Britain's Got Talent
Dance Search Terms
Caroline Plummer Fellow Community Dance
Caroline Plummer Fellow 2024
Marcela Giesche (Otago Fellow)
Related Subject Guides
Movie Apps
Dance Websites
NZ Dance
- Ziln - New Zealand's New Media Network
The Dance Film Channel is designed to create a year-round space for New Zealand dance on the internet, an online channel dedicated to and in support of dance. - Atamira Dance company
Atamira is the leading creator and presenter of Māori contemporary dance theatre from Aotearoa New Zealand. The work embodies a unique artistic landscape shaped by the cultural identity of our people and their stories. - DANZ (Dance Aotearoa New Zealand)
The national support organisation for dance in Aotearoa. A collective voice for dance in New Zealand and raise its public profile. They provide information and support services to all individuals, companies and organisations working in the dance industry. - Good Company Arts
GCA creates live events, exhibitions and installations through the fusion of multiple art forms. Working from Aotearoa New Zealand, they are combining contemporary dance, choreography, fine arts, new music, animation, digital cinema and AV technologies. - Black Grace
Led by Neil Ieremia since 1995, Black Grace fuses Pacific and contemporary dance in an extraordinary and dynamic form. (New website coming soon)
Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.