Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Postgraduate Information Sessions and Workshops 2022
There are Library sessions and workshops provided specifically for Postgraduate students. For more information and to register go to our Zoom workshops.
Information sessions 10-11am (via Zoom) on Wednesdays
- 26 Jan, 28 Sep - Postgraduate Library Services – An introduction to Library support, recommended resources and services.
- 23 Feb, 26 Oct - Effective Search Strategies - Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results
- 30 Mar, 9 Nov - The Thesis Guide – For new thesis students, about preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing.
- 27 Apr, 23 Nov - Researcher Profiles - Building an online profile to promote your research, and yourself.
Hands-on Workshops 10-11.30am (via Zoom) on Tuesdays and Thursdays
- 19 May, 6 Oct - Research Data Management - Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving (face-to-face only).
- 3 May, 11 Oct - Getting published - Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission.
- 5 May, 13 Oct - Impact Metrics - Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish.
ITS and Library staff offer EndNote: Key Functions and EndNote: Advanced Functions - Zoom workshops using EndNote to store, group, edit and annotate references, and cite while you write. For PC or Mac bookings check dates and times here.
Writing Your Thesis
Thesis Information Library Guide
Essential information and advice for Postgraduates on the many stages of the thesis process, from planning to submitting.
All Otago theses and dissertations are required to be deposited in the OUR Archive. Depositors have the option to make their dissertation or thesis available in full-text.
SAGE Research Methods
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
SAGE Campus is a digital library product that supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. Our style is self-paced and instructor-led, comprised of an engaging mix of SAGE-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. Our flexible learning pathways cover tricky skills and research methods that can be applied across all stages of academic study; from undergraduates looking to critically assess information to researchers looking to report and publish their data.
= Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research. The EQUATOR Network has goals of raising awareness of the importance of good reporting of research, assisting in the development, dissemination and implementation of reporting guidelines for different types of study designs, monitoring the status of the quality of reporting of research studies in the health sciences literature, and conducting research relating to issues that impact the quality of reporting of health research studies.
Bioethics research in OUR Archive
Here you can see the latest postgraduate research that has been published in OUR Archive in Bioethics at Otago.
Postgraduate Library Services
Conference papers are an excellent source of current research, best practices and new innovations in a research area.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Article database with a 'conference' search field
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Specify 'conference paper' in Document Type
If you find a great article on your topic, you can use a citation
database to track down related articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Citation database with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Research Publishing & Impact