Indigenous Studies: Books & eBooks

This Handbook inverts the lens on development, asking what Indigenous communities across the globe hope and build for themselves. In contrast to earlier writing on development, this volume focuses on Indigenous peoples as inspiring theorists and potent political actors who resist the ongoing destruction of their livelihoods. To foster their own visions of development, they look from the present back to Indigenous pasts and forward to Indigenous futures.

The book provides a first-hand account of land conflict and power relations in one of the most resource-rich states in India - Jharkhand. Through the eyes of the state, corporate, and Adivasi actors, it reveals how conflict over land in Jharkhand is firmly embedded in the ideological foundations of the key actors in the region.

This edited volume analyzes African knowledge production and alternative development paths of the region. The contributors demonstrate ways in which African-centered knowledge refutes stereotypes depicted by Euro-centric scholars and, overall, examine Indigenous African contributions in global knowledge production and development.

An analysis of how cultural rights emerged over self-determination as the dominant legal framework for indigenous advocacy in the late twentieth century, bringing unfortunate, if unintended, consequences.

This book examines how Indigenous Peoples around the world are demanding greater data sovereignty, and challenging the ways in which governments have historically used Indigenous data to develop policies and programs.

As the global ‘data revolution’ accelerates, how can the data rights and interests of indigenous peoples be secured? Premised on the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, this book argues that indigenous peoples have inherent and inalienable rights relating to the collection, ownership and application of data about them, and about their lifeways and territories.

A difficult history -- The problems encountered during Indigenous research -- University policies -- Research partnerships: Positive potential -- Indigenous-led research -- Indigenous genomics -- Indigenous data sovereignty.

It's important that research with indigenous peoples is ethically and methodologically relevant. This volume looks at challenges involved in this research and offers best practice guidelines to research communities, exploring how adherence to ethical research principles acknowledges and maintains the integrity of indigenous people and knowledge.
This book includes indigenous data, data governance & data sovereignty.

Encounters on Contested Lands analyzes films, plays, visual art, and protest marches by Indigenous artists in Quebec, Canada, to explore the performance of cultural identity, sovereignty, and nationhood in Quebec's independence movement.

This book brings to light the richness and diversity of Connecticut's Indigenous histories, corrects misinformation about the vanishing Connecticut Indian, and reveals the significant roles and contributions of Native Americans to modern-day Connecticut.

The role of blood quantum is integral to understanding how Native Americans came to be one of the most disadvantaged groups in the United States, and it remains a significant part of present-day debates about Indian identity and tribal membership. Blood Will Tell is an important and timely contribution to current political and scholarly debates.

A centerpiece of the book is a collection of oral history profiles from Canada and the United States that illustrate the range of possibilities that people interested in Indigenous oral history might pursue. It emphasizes the importance of community engagement and adhering to appropriate local protocols and ethical standards, inviting readers to understand that oral work can take various forms with people whose cultural heritage has always relied on oral transmission of knowledge.

INDIGENOUS TEXTUAL CULTURES assesses how indigenous literacy, texts, and orality were related in a range of colonial situations, across three centuries, and the repercussions of these interactions today. Native writers deployed the written word to assert intellectual power within the uneven terrains of colonial rule.

Material Encounters and Indigenous Transformations in the Early Colonial Americas brings together 15 case studies focusing on the early colonial history and archaeology of indigenous cultural persistence and change in the Caribbean and its surrounding mainland(s) after AD 1492.

The multitude of creative texts, performance practices, and artworks produced by Indigenous writers and artists in contemporary Australia calls upon Anglo-European academic readers, viewers, and critics to respond to this critical question. Contributors address a plethora of creative works by Indigenous writers, poets, playwrights, filmmakers, and painters.

This open-access book outlines development theory and practice over time as well as critically interrogates the “cultural turn” in development policy in Latin American indigenous communities, specifically, in Guatemala, Honduras, Ecuador, and Bolivia.

The NZ History Collection provides complete online access to a major, authoritative resource – over thirty years of award-winning history and biography publishing from Bridget Williams Books. Includes recent and out-of-print titles, from scholars Judith Binney and Vincent O'Malley.

The BWB Texts Collection are short books on big subjects: succinct narratives spanning history, memoir, contemporary issues, science and more from great New Zealand writers. Packed full of fresh thinking, ideas and critical analysis of subjects relevant to New Zealand.

The Critical Issues Collection provides online access to over 40 key books addressing the big issues facing New Zealand today including housing, inequality, climate change, child poverty, the environment, migration, financial crisis, and more.

This book critically reflects on Indigenous approaches to research design and implementation, towards achieving sustainable development goals, as well as the associated challenges and opportunities.

This book examines the meaning of Sámi research and research methodologies, practical levels of doing Indigenous research today in different contexts, as well as global debates in Indigenous research

Bagele Chilisa has written the first textbook that situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context. With case studies from around the world, the book demonstrates the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of research and the historical and cultural traditions of third-world and indigenous peoples.

This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada.