Indigenous Studies: Indigenous Science
Indigenous Science
Image by: Indigenous Corporate Training
A Collection of Indigenous Science & Indigenous Economy Resources
Indigenous Science
Fresh banana leaves : healing indigenous landscapes through indigenous science by Call Number: GE195.9 .H47 2022 Science (Book)Publication Date: 2022
Resilience through knowledge co-production : indigenous knowledge, science, and global environmental change by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2022
Encountering the sovereign other : indigenous science fiction by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2021
Vivir Bien as an Alternative to Neoliberal Globalization: Can Indigenous Terminologies by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2018
Indigenous Knowledges and the Sustainable Development Agenda by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2020
Material Encounters and Indigenous Transformations in the Early Colonial Americas: Archaeological Case Studies Decolonize the State? by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2019
Integrating Indigenous and Western education in science curricula : relationships at play by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2021
Unsettling responsibility in science education : indigenous science, deconstruction, and the multicultural science education debate by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2021
Indigenous Science Institutions
Australia's National Science Agency
Australian Council of Deans of Science
Te Kotahi: Research Institute (University of Waikato)
What is Indigenous Science? (We Are Fire) (Cree)
Te Koronga: Māori Research Excellence (Otago University)
Indigenous Initiatives
Welcome to Country (Australia)
Protocols for welcoming visitors to Country have always been a part of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures. Boundaries were clear, and crossing into another group’s Country required a request for permission to enter.
Acknowledgment of Country (Australia)
An Acknowledgment of Country can be a way of showing awareness of, and respect for, the Traditional Custodians of the land upon which a meeting or event is to take place.
Land Acknowledgement (United States of America)
Land acknowledgment is a traditional custom for many Native nations and communities. Today, land acknowledgments are used by Native Peoples and non-Natives to recognize Indigenous Peoples who are the original stewards of the lands on which we now live.
Acknowledgment for First Peoples & Traditional Territory (First Nations, Inuit & Métis)
Acknowledging territory shows recognition of and respect for Aboriginal Peoples. It is a recognition of their presence both in the past and the present.
Karakia (Māori)
Karakia are prayers or incantations. They are generally used to ensure a favourable outcome to important events and meetings.
Indigenous Economies
Indigenous economics : sustaining peoples and their lands by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2022
Creating private sector economies in Native America : sustainable development through entrepreneurship by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2019
Indigenous participation in Australian economies : historical and anthropological perspectives by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2010
Indigenous participation in Australian economies II : historical engagements and current enterprises by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2012
Sound-producing instruments in Oceania : construction and playing technique, distribution and function by Call Number: ML547.FH24 Central (Book)Publication Date: 1986
Human security, extractive industries, and Indigenous communities in the Russian North by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2020
Linking indigenous communities with regional development by Call Number: (eBook)Publication Date: 2019
The case to recognise Indigenous knowledge as science | Albert Wiggan | TEDxSydney
Indigenous Science Databases
- Te Kotahi : Indigenous ScienceA collection of publications for Indigenous Science, from Waikato University.
- Te Kotahi : Indigenous EconomiesA collection of publications for Indigenous economies from Waikato University.
- Pacific and Regional Archive for Digital Sources in Endangered Cultures (PARADISEC)
A race against time to digitise analog records of materials from endangered cultures from all over the world. - AUSTLANG : AIATSIS Collection
AustLang provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages, art & culture, photographs and datasets. AIATSIS acknowledges the traditional owners of country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to land, culture and community. We pay our respects to elders past and present. - Center for World Indigenous Studies
We are a global community of activist scholars advancing the rights of indigenous peoples through the application of traditional knowledge. Our mission: Activist scholars advancing the rights of indigenous peoples worldwide. - Land Portal : Land Mark
LandMark: The Global Platform of Indigenous and Community Lands displays georeferenced information on collectively-held and used lands worldwide. It consolidates the numerous ongoing local, national, and regional efforts to map and document indigenous and community lands within a single global platform. - Pacific Data Hub - Indigenous datasets
The Pacific Data Hub (PDH) is a central repository of data about the Pacific and for the Pacific. The platform serves as a gateway to the most comprehensive collection of data and information about the Pacific across key areas, including population statistics, fisheries science, climate change adaptation, disaster risk reduction and resilience, conservation of plant genetic resources for food security, public health surveillance and human rights. - Ngarrngga
Ngarrngga is a Taungurung word meaning to know, to hear, to understand.
Our vision is for all Australian students to have the opportunity to connect with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander knowledge systems, histories and cultures.
Indigenous knowledge meets science to take on climate change | Hindou Oumarou Ibrahim
Tabatha Bull: We Will Not Achieve Reconciliation Without Vibrant Indigenous Economies
Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.