Scottish Studies: Language & Culture

A comprehensive English-language guide to culture in Scotland, aimed at both cultural professionals and the general public.

Includes information about: Scottish festivals, writing, people, landscape & wildlife, history & tradition, the arts, ancestry, fashion, music & media, sport, food & drink.

Scotland's largest independent listings and events magazine.

Includes links to: Academic Resources, Literary Organisations & Events, Publishers in Scotland, Resources for Writers (advice, agents and publications), Writers in Scotland (websites dedicated to Scottish writers, past and present).

Best Scottish Poems published by the Scottish Poetry Library.

Badsville - the home of Scottish crime fiction. Includes news, interviews, reviews, book-related stuff, non book-related stuff, and more, with a focus on Scottish crime fiction authors, and crime fiction books set in Scotland.

Website where you can find details of around 40 amazing book, storytelling and poetry festivals which take place from January to November each year.

Site for Scottish crime writer Christopher Brookmyre - read extracts from his novels, watch videos and more.

The Council publishes a catalogue of all Gaelic and Gaelic-related books in print. This can be accessed via the website.

The largest public celebration of the written word in the world.

Edinburgh is the world's first UNESCO City of Literature, pioneer in an international network of UNESCO Creative Cities. This permanent, non competitive title bestows international recognition on Edinburgh and Scotland as a world centre for literature and literary activity.

This website contains a wealth of information on the fiction of Iain Banks and the science fiction of Iain M Banks. New content is being added to the site on a regular basis.

The site contains loads of information on Ian Rankin and his most famous character, Rebus. Check back regularly for updates from Ian, the latest news about his new books, updates to the Creating Rebus gallery and much more.

The leading agency promoting lliterature, reading and writing in Scotland. Website includes useful links to writers, publishers, literary organisations, literary publications, book festivals and more.

Val McDermid, award winning crime writer, who grew up in Kirkcaldy on the East Coast of Scotland. Find information on Val, her books, her UK TV series and upcoming personal appearances.

This edition of William Golder’s poetry is designed to make the poetry of a British settler poet available to readers in New Zealand and internationally with interests in the intellectual and cultural history of colonisation and the origins of modern New Zealand.

A unique resource and advocate for the art of poetry, and Scottish poetry in particular. Includes an A to Z of Scottish poets.

Supports study in Gaelic language, literature, song, music, art and history.

A taste of Scottish Gaelic for absolute beginners.

Online game for complete beginners to the Gaelic language.

Aims to give people that speak Scots the chance to learn more about their own language

Includes: Scottish Pronunciation, Scottish Words, Scottish Given Names, Scottish Sayings, Scottish Family Names and Scottish Place Names.

A large electronic corpus of both written and spoken texts for the languages of Scotlan a large electronic corpus of both written and spoken texts for the languages of Scotland.

Each week a Scottish word and its meaning is added to this site along with an illustration intended to make you laugh and understand. Also provided is a translation of all the words and all the captions into English.

One of the world's first international film festivals.

Aims to support Scotland’s theatre and dance sector to be a world leader in artistic and management practice, and to place theatre and dance as a key component of Scotland’s civic and cultural life.

Scotland's first ever National Theatre - working with the best Scottish actors, directors and theatre companies, producing unmissable nights out throughout Scotland and beyond.

A selection of video trailers, interviews and vox pops from the National Theatre of Scotland.

Contains Scottish Theatre reviews adn articles and many useful links.

The Academy fosters and maintains the Highland and National dances brought to New Zealand by the Scottish Settlers.

The Fleming Collection is the finest collection of Scottish art in private hands.

The collection contains some 1,000 prints, 500 watercolours and drawings and 125 oil paintings, and several reproductions and newspaper or magazine illustrations. The majority of the views depicted were chosen either for their historical significance or their picturesque aspects.

Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Mu​seum is one of Scotland's most popular free attractions, with 22 themed, state-of-the-art galleries displaying 8000 objects. Collections include: natural history, arms and armour, art from many art movements and periods of history, and much more.

One of the best collections of Scottish and international art is among the best in the world,housed in three galleries across Edinburgh.

The National Galleries of Scotland holds the national collection of Scottish art, the most important of its kind in the world.

The home of contemporary art in Scotland.

This collection encompasses paintings, drawings, sculpture, stained glass and prints, and represents many of Scotland’s most significant artists. It boasts a fine selection of portraits, landscapes and Victorian narrative and history paintings.

This collection comprises about 1,500 paintings and 2,000 watercolours and drawings. The works are by important Scottish artists of the period.

This collection contains works depicting Scottish locations, including the Highlands, the Hebrides, the river and Firth of Clyde and the Fife Coast. It also includes a small number of foreign views by Scottish artists.

This collection includes some 265 oil paintings, 20 watercolours and drawings and 400 prints of Scottish portraits. These are mainly by Scottish artists although there are a few pictures of Scottish sitters by English artists, particularly in the period before 1850.

This collection contains around 320 oil paintings, 250 watercolours or drawings and 60 prints by Scottish Victorian artists, with the exception of The Glasgow Boys, who are the subject of a separate study.

Represents librarians and information providers from academic and public libraries, museums, galleries and other institutions concerned with the promotion and documentation of the visual arts in Scotland.

Contains thousands of tartan designs, which are free for you to search and reference.

The oldest remaining “specialist” association of its kind in Scotland.

A representative world governing body for all highland dancing organisations and associations ranging from the largest Professional Dance Teachers Associations who conduct Medal Tests and Teachers Exams to the many small local Highland Games organisations.