Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hākena Search Help: Search results

How to find archives and manuscripts, ephemera, pictures and photographs at the Hocken Collections

Search results - Icons and Save to Gallery

Search results are presented in a list with the number of results showing at the top of the screen.

Each record has an icon to show which collection it is from -

  Pictures Collection
  Photographs Collection
  Archives and Manuscripts Collection
   Ephemera Collection

You can refine your results to a particular collection - see Search results - Sorting and Limits.

If an item has been digitised, then a thumbnail image will display instead of an icon -

Click on Save to Gallery to save a digitised image to Image Gallery where you can view it in greater detail. You can save more than one image to the gallery. Images will only be saved in the current session of Hākena.

See Image Gallery for more details on viewing images.

Search results - Sorting

On the search results screen you can sort your search results.

Results can be sorted by relevance, creator, title or date (earliest or latest) using the dropdown menu at the top right of the results list.

 

Search results - Refining

On the search results screen you can refine your search results.

Refine your results on the left, i.e. Collection Type and Date, then click Apply Filter to view results. Click Remove Filter to remove the limits and return to the original set of results.

Search results - More Information and Access Restrictions

Click on More Information and Access Restrictions to see more details about a record without leaving the search results list.

Click on the title of an item to view the full record and to see request options.

See Getting your materials for information on requesting.

Record arrangement - Pictures

The Pictures collection describes each item giving details about its format and dimensions in the full record.

See Getting your materials for details on requesting.

Record arrangement - Photographs

The arrangement of material in the Photographs collection is hierarchical with Group at the top and Item and Component at the bottom

  • Group – boxes or albums of photographs
  • Item and component – individual photographs in boxes or albums

The arrangement of a collection or group can be viewed as a diagram on the left and the position of the record you are looking at is highlighted. Use the diagram to see other item (or component) records, and to navigate between collection levels.

The Level field describes which part of the hierarchy you are in.

The level at which you can request material varies but you need to be in a record that has the Issue Status as Issuable Item.

See Getting your materials for details on requesting.

Please note – photographic images can also be found in the Pictures and Archives and Manuscripts collections.

Record arrangement - Archives and Manuscripts

The Archives and Manuscripts collection arranges records in a hierarchy with Group at the top, Series in the middle and Item at the bottom

  • Group - a collection of records from one source e.g. Murray Tosti Papers
  • Series - a set of records within a group related by document type, purpose, or topic, e.g. Correspondence in the Murray Tosti Papers
  • Items - individual records within a group and/or series, e.g. Telegrams of congratulations upon the birth of Tosti are in the Correspondence series of the Murray Tosti Papers

The arrangement of a collection or group can be viewed on the left, and the position of the record you are looking at is highlighted. Use the diagram to see other item records, and to navigate between collection levels.

The Level field describes which part of the hierarchy you are in.

To request material you need to be at an item level, or in a record that has the Issue Status as Issuable Item.

See Getting your materials for details on requesting.

Record arrangement - Ephemera

The Ephemera collection arranges records in a hierarchy with Group at the top, Item in the middle, and then Component at the bottom.

  • Group - a collection of records from one source or relating to one subject or organisation e.g. Otago University Dramatic Society: Ephemera
  • Items - individual records within a group and/or series, e.g. Posters 1957-1986 within the Otago University Dramatic Society Ephemera collection
  • Component - a single poster, page or image within an item eg. "Otago University Dramatic Soc. presents The Two Noble Kinsmen"  in Posters 1957-1986s within the Otago University Dramatic Society Ephemera collection

The arrangement of a collection or group can be viewed on the left, and the position of the record you are looking at is highlighted. Use the diagram to see other item records, and to navigate between collection levels.

The Level field describes which part of the hierarchy you are in.

To request material you need to be at an item level, or in a record that has the Issue Status as Issuable Item.

See Getting your materials for details on requesting.

Preferred Citation and Permanent URL

Use the Preferred Citation to refer to a particular item or collection.

Use the Permanent URL to link to a particular record.