Hocken Collections Te Uare Taoka o Hākena: Library Services

The Hocken offers a range of services for researchers, both in-person and by distance.

In-person services

All visitors to the library can access research assistance at the reference desk during opening hours. Staff can:

• register you as a reader
• advise on sources that are relevant to your topic
• show you how to request sources
• issue items for use in the reading room
• advise you on copying services

Researchers requiring specialist advice should contact the relevant curators by email or phone to make an appointment.

Distance services

A limited written reference service is offered freely for those unable to visit in person. Please contact us with specific inquiries.

Email hocken@otago.ac.nz or call (03) 479 8879.                                                                                                                                     

Most materials at Hocken Collections can be copied, although copyright conditions apply. Some items cannot be copied due to their physical condition, or copying restrictions may apply. Please ask desk staff for advice.

Copying for research use

If you require copies of Hocken material for your own private research, there are several options available:

• check Hocken Digital Collections for a digitised image of the item
• take photographs with your phone, tablet, or camera
• scan onto your flash drive using the scanners in the reading room
• photocopies/scans can be made by Hocken staff at a cost of $1 per page
• University of Otago and Otago Polytechnic | Te Pūkenga students and staff can request scans of published material through the Library Scan Request function on Library Search | Ketu 

Copying for public use

If you require copies of Hocken material for public use eg. publication in books, journals, blogs, websites, videos and films, or public display, you must obtain a high resolution scan using the Hocken's reprographic service, and complete a reproduction application form. For items within copyright, you must also obtain permission from the copyright holder.

Please check our terms and conditions of use and reproduction fees and contact the relevant curators for advice.

Please ask desk staff for general research assistance. They can help you to locate useful information and resources, and refer you to the appropriate curators if necessary.

Try our research guides for relevant sources and search tips.

Postgraduate students are welcome to make an appointment with Liaison Librarians Katherine Milburn or Amanda Mills, or the relevant curators, to discover Hocken resources that are specifically related to their research topic.

To use Hocken Collections' materials, you must register as a reader.

• University of Otago staff and students can access the published collections via Library Search | Ketu with their university username/password, but must obtain a Hocken card to access the unpublished collections via Hākena
• Otago Polytechnic | Te Pūkenga staff and students can access the published collections via Library Search | Ketu with their Polytechnic username/password, but must obtain a Hocken card to access the unpublished collections via Hākena
• Members of the public must register for a Hocken card to access both Library Search | Ketu and Hākena

Hocken staff can register you for a Hocken card at the reference desk. Please bring in photographic identification; acceptable examples include:

• University of Otago ID card
• Otago Polytechnic | Te Pūkenga ID card
• Secondary school ID card
• Driver's license
• Passport

You will be asked to complete a registration form. Registration usually takes 5-10 minutes. Staff can then advise you how to request material both on-site, and in advance of your visit, to view in the Hocken reading room.

You can pre-register on Hākena only.  Please take note of your username and password and come into Hocken Collections with photographic identification to complete registration. You should only register online once.

Public tours are available every Thursday at 11am - talk to staff at the front desk. These tours are:

• open to all
• bookings are not required
• about 50 minutes long
• a walk through the public areas and closed stacks

Tours for community groups must be organised by appointment. Please contact Liaison Librarians Katherine Milburn or Amanda Mills.

Specialised research visits of the art and photography collections must be organised by appointment. Please contact the art and photography staff.

Subject classes and tours are offered for students at secondary and tertiary levels. Our classes are tailored to the students’ research focus and needs, and can incorporate:

• a brief Powerpoint introduction to Hocken Collections and the variety of primary and secondary materials held here (also available via box on the right)
• a tour of our stacks so the extent of Hocken's collections and research materials can be experienced
• the opportunity to view and use our unique resources and materials that specifically relate to the subject/paper being covered
• guidance in the use and handling of appropriate research tools

Classes usually take 50 minutes, but can be tailored to the time the class has available. Classes take place in our seminar room which can comfortably seat up to 24 people - please talk to us if your class size is larger than this as we can make suitable arrangements.

For subject classes and tours please contact Liaison Librarians Katherine Milburn or Amanda Mills.

Please note: Parking around Hocken Collections is difficult. The nearest paid carpark is in lower Albany Street, and is approximately 5 minutes walk away from the Hocken. For further information, please click here.

If you are being dropped off by bus or van, the safest place is behind the Hocken in Parry Street.