Hocken Collections Te Uare Taoka o Hākena: Archives

Archives are collections of documents created by a particular person or organisation. Archives can contain material in any format, on physical or digital media. Archives are almost always first-hand accounts of an event or activity, or what historians call ‘primary sources’.

We collect archives to provide evidence of decisions and actions taken in the past, and to record and preserve the stories and working practices of the people who came before us.

Archives may include:

• Letters and diaries
• Whakapapa and family papers
• Minutes of board or committee meetings
• Research papers
• Membership records for clubs and societies
• Business and accounting records, such as cashbooks or ledgers
• Photographs, moving image films, and sound recordings

For information on referencing archives see the relevant section in this Libguide under 'Referencing Hocken sources'.

The Hocken's archives collection is the largest held by a New Zealand university. The archives have been collected to tell the stories of events, people, and places connected with Otago, but also have relevance for New Zealand, the Pacific region, and the wider world.

Many organisations, families, and individuals have entrusted their archives to the Hocken Collections, including Charles Brasch, Janet Frame, Colin and Anne McCahon, Hone Tuwhare, and Sir Michael Cullen. We also hold important national collections such as the records of the New Zealand Alpine Club, and the records of Whānau Āwhina Plunket.

The collection covers a wide range of topics, but we are particularly strong in:

• Papers related to Kai Tahu whānui
• The personal papers of artists, writers, scientists, politicians, and others with connections to Otago
• Records of Dunedin and Otago businesses
• School records, and the records of the Otago Education Board
• Records of sporting clubs and organisations
• Records of Anglican and Methodist churches in Otago
• Records of local government in Otago
• Records of the European history of Otago and Southland

The Hocken is also the archival repository for the University of Otago. The university’s archive includes older administrative records of the Registry, as well as records of departments, schools, prominent academics, and students.

Staff can help with:

• Finding archives relevant to your research
• Instructions on the care and handling of archives
• Photocopying, scanning and photography
• Advice on conditions of access, copyright, and referencing archives

From 18th century recipe books to 21st century digital files, the Hocken's archives collection is the largest held by a New Zealand university. The archives tell stories of early Dunedin giving first hand insights into events, people and places significant in Otago's history.

Collection strengths include:

• Literary and personal research papers
• Otago Anglican records and Otago/Southland Methodist Church records
• School records from the Otago Education Board area
• Otago/Dunedin based business records
• Community, club and sporting group records
• Early European settlement documents

Papers collected by Dr Hocken form the foundation of the collection. Many organisations, families and individuals have entrusted their papers, including James K Baxter, Janet Frame, Charles Brasch, Colin McCahon, Michael Cullen, the Dunedin Returned Services Association, the Plunket Society and Hallensteins Ltd. The collections also include important national documents like records of the New Zealand Alpine Club.

The Reverend Samuel Marsden (1765-1838) was the driving force behind the establishment of the Church Missionary Society in New Zealand in the early 19th century.

The Marsden Online Archive contains Marsden’s Church Missionary Society letters and journals, as well as papers related to other early NZ missionaries from the period 1080 to 1823. It provides access to high resolution images of manuscripts along with associated transcripts created by retired Associate Professor Gordon Parsonson.

The Marsden Online Archive was developed by the University of Otago Library, in a collaborative project with the university's Centre for Research on Colonial Culture.

Letters, 1913-1917, from Diamond Jenness, to Professor George William von Zedlitz. 1913-1917. von Zedlitz, George William: Papers, Misc-MS-1858. Archives Collection, Hocken Collections, Uare Taoka o Hākena, University of Otago, Dunedin, NZ.

Parata, W.T. : Album of Maori Rugby Football Team Tour Overseas. c.1924-1927, c.1967-1982. MS-1262. Archives Collection, Hocken Collections, Uare Taoka o Hākena, University of Otago, Dunedin, NZ.

 

Hanlon, Alfred Charles: Brief for the defence of Minnie Dean, Invercargill. 1895. MS-0687. Archives Collection, Hocken Collections, Uare Taoka o Hākena, University of Otago, Dunedin, NZ.

Search for archives on Hākena using the simple search or advanced search options

• Search by keyword, title, creator, organisation, iwi/hapu, place, or subject 
• Use the advanced search for targeted queries of specific fields
• Try an advanced search by record type e.g. Diary - Personal, Architectural plan(s), Born digital
• Identify search results as belonging to the archives collection by this icon 
• Some material is described as individual items but usually material is listed as items in collection groups
• Refine results on Hākena to the archives collection once you have made a search
• Limit searches to the archives collection using the advanced search options
• The Hākena Search Help Guide contains helpful tips and assistance for using Hākena

Please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate archives relating to your inquiry or email the archives staff.

Access to most archives is not restricted, and anyone can come and read them when the library is open – but some archives are restricted to protect the privacy of living people, for reasons of commercial sensitivity, or as a condition of donation.

If you’d like to read an item from a restricted archive, you must apply for permission by completing an application form and sending it to the right person for their consideration.

Details of restrictions and who to apply to for access are recorded on Hākena. If you’re not sure who to apply to or how to do it, please contact the archives staff.

Make sure that you include the following information when you fill in the form:

• Your name and contact details
• The title and reference number of the items you’re interested in seeing
• The purpose of your research
• Whether you’d like to take copies or scans of the items

If you are granted the permission you need, please bring the form with you when you visit or send it to us in an e-mail. The permission information will be added to your record here at the Hocken.

The Hocken Library holds the archives of the University of Otago. The university’s archives include the older corporate records of the Registry, and many records of departments, schools, and other units of the University.

In some circumstances researchers must gain the permission of the Registrar before records can be viewed. The Access Framework for University of Otago Records gives details of the restrictions and which records they apply to.

Follow the instructions in the box above in order to gain access to restricted University of Otago records.

If you have any questions, please contact the archives staff.