Hocken Collections Te Uare Taoka o Hākena: Ephemera and posters

Ephemera is a word of Greek origin that referred to an insect or plant ‘lasting only a day’. It eventually came to apply to ‘things that exist or are used or enjoyed for only a short time’ and ‘collectable items that were originally expected to have only short-term usefulness or popularity’.

Maurice Rickards, author of The Encyclopedia of Ephemera (2000), describes ephemera as ‘the minor transient documents of everyday life’. It is printed material produced for immediate and temporary use that is usually then discarded. Ephemera is collected by individuals and libraries because it provides evidence of everyday life and an insight to the culture and history of a society. It reflects the attitudes and opinions of the time as well as contemporary design trends and aesthetic tastes.

Ephemera covers a wide range of material including (but not limited to) advertising leaflets and catalogues, tickets, packaging, menus, posters, programmes, calendars, board games and jigsaw puzzles.

At the Hocken Collections, ephemera is held in the ephemera collection, and also in the archives collection, publications collection, art, and photography collections.

The Hocken Collections holds ephemera dating back to the early nineteenth century, but the bulk of the ephemera collection dates from the mid-twentieth century onwards as that is when systematic and purposeful collecting increased.

The scope of the ephemera collection primarily focuses on the Dunedin and Otago region, but there is material relating to general New Zealand themes and subjects.

There are approximately 24,000 posters and 300 linear metres of ephemera in the ephemera collection.

The collection is strong in relation to:

• performing arts
• tourism
• general elections
• University of Otago
• knitting patterns
• local advertising

The ephemera collection is primarily organised by the organisation that created it, or by subject. There are collections of material where the provenance takes precedence, so they are described by their collector or donor, e.g., Eph-Gp-0001 Bruce Russell: Posters. Some material is organised by format, e.g., calendars.

For information on referencing ephemera, see the relevant section in this Libguide under 'Referencing Hocken sources'.

Listing of the ephemera collection has recently begun on Hākena.

• Search by keyword, title, creator, organisation, or subject using the simple search or advanced search options.
• Use the advanced search for targeted queries of specific fields.
• Try an advanced search by record type, such as poster or printed ephemera.
• Identify search results as belonging to the ephemera collection by this icon:
• Some material is described as individual items or as items in collection groups.
• Refine results on Hākena to the ephemera collection once you have made a search.
• Limit searches to the ephemera collection using the advanced search options.
• Identify search results as belonging to the ephemera collection by a reference number beginning with Eph, e.g., Eph-Gp-0002 New Zealand Truth: Posters.
• The Hākena Search Help Guide contains helpful tips and assistance for using Hākena.

Because listing has only recently begun on Hākena, most of the ephemera collection is not yet described there, so please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate ephemera relating to your inquiry.

Please email any ephemera-related questions to the Curator of Ephemera.

Search for ephemera in the archives collection on Hākena using the simple search or advanced search options.

• Search by keyword, title, creator, organisation, or subject.
• Use the advanced search for targeted queries of specific fields.
• Try an advanced search by record type, such as poster, postcards, or printed ephemera.
• Identify search results as belonging to the archives collection by this icon:
• Some material is described as individual items, but usually material is listed as items in collection groups.
• Refine results on Hākena to the archives collection once you have made a search.
• Limit searches to the archives collection using the advanced search options.
• The Hākena Search Help Guide contains helpful tips and assistance for using Hākena.

Please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate ephemera relating to your inquiry or email the archives staff.

The main form of ephemera in the Hocken photography collection is postcards. Search for holdings on Hākena using the simple search or advanced search options.

• Search by keyword, title, creator, organisation, or subject.
• Use the advanced search for targeted queries of specific fields.
• Identify search results as belonging to the photography collection by this icon:
• Some material is described as individual items or as items in collection groups.
• Refine results on Hākena to the photographs collection once you have made a search.
• Limit searches to the photographs collection using the advanced search options.
• The Hākena Search Help Guide contains helpful tips and assistance for using Hākena.

Please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate ephemera relating to your inquiry or email the Curator of Photography.

Art-related ephemera, including invitations and brochures, is held in the artist files in the Hocken art collection. Search for holdings via the database Find New Zealand Artists and talk to desk staff if you wish to view this material.

Art-related posters are also held in the Hocken art collection. Please talk to desk staff if you wish to consult this collection.

Please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate ephemera relating to your inquiry or email Researcher Services.

Look for ephemera in the publications collection by searching Library Search|Ketu using the simple search or advanced search options.

• Search by keyword, title, author/creator, or subject.
• Some items are simply described as ephemera, or by their format, e.g., programme.
• Refine results to Hocken Library once you have already made a search.
• The Library Search Guide contains helpful tips and assistance for using Library Search|Ketu.

Please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate ephemera relating to your inquiry or email Researcher Services.