Hocken Collections Te Uare Taoka o Hākena: Maps and plans

There are over 15,000 items in the map collection, including maps, plans, charts and atlases, with strong coverage of New Zealand, the Pacific and Antarctica, as well as early world maps. Items date from the 16th century to the present day.

Maps and plans are also held in the archives collection, and within published items in the publications collection.

See the Maps and plans at the Hocken Collections research guide for details of our holdings.

For information on referencing maps and plans see the relevant section in this Libguide under 'Referencing Hocken sources'.

Look for items in the maps and plans collection by searching Library Search|Ketu using the simple search or advanced search options

• Search by keyword, title, author/creator or subject
• Limit your search to Maps under Type in the advanced search options
• Refine results to Maps under Type once you have already made a search
• Refine results to Hocken Library once you have already made a search
• The Library Search Guide contains helpful tips and assistance for using Library Search|Ketu

Please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate maps and plans relating to your inquiry or email Researcher Services.

Search for maps and plans in the archives collection on Hākena using the simple search or advanced search options

• Search by keyword, title, creator, organisation, place, or subject 
• Use the advanced search for targeted queries of specific fields
• Try an advanced search by record type Map(s) or Plans
• Identify search results as belonging to the archives collection by this icon 
• Some material is described as individual items but usually material is listed as items in collection groups
• Refine results on Hākena to the archives collection once you have made a search
• Limit searches to the archives collection using the advanced search options
• The Hākena Search Help Guide contains helpful tips and assistance for using Hākena

Please talk to desk staff if you cannot locate maps and plans relating to your inquiry or email the archives staff.

Map of Lakes in the interior of Middle Island from a drawing by Huruhuru. Dunedin: Probably a copy of Edward Shortland's map drawn by Dr and Mrs Hocken for the New Zealand and South Seas Exhibition, 1889-1890.

Map of the Province of Otago compiled from official surveys & explorations, additions to 1871. Dunedin, N.Z.: Otago Survey Lithographic Press, 1871.

Blue Spur Consolidated Gold Co. Ltd. special claim [Lawrence, N.Z. : Blue Spur Consolidated Gold, 1891].

City of Dunedin Registered 27th Oct. 1888 under the provisions of the Fine Art Copyright Act 1877. Dunedin N.Z. : Thos. George Lith., 1888?