Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kia Ora. How Can We Help?
I have an assignment and need to find literature on a topic:
How do I reference this resource?:
I am searching for a thesis:
I am searching for a Documentary:
I'm a distance student who needs items (books, DVDs, some articles etc) sent to me:
I have searched the guide but can't find an answer to my question:
Looking for Academic Literature?
Below are the four best places to start searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the tabs along the top for even more options.
Library Search | Ketu Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
Religion Database (ProQuest) Contains primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organisations.
The Library has purchased perpetual access to the acclaimed Loeb Classical Digital Library. This is now available and is a great addition to our collections. It came about as a result of a trial across the Lockdown period when the database was heavily used.
Loeb Classical Library
The digital Loeb Classical Library published by Harvard University Press, is a fully searchable and browsable platform hosting a series of over 500 texts which, through original text and English translation, gives access to Greek and Latin heritage. Texts cover epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, the great medical writers and mathematicians.
Create an individual ‘My Loebs’ account using the ‘Create Profile’ link on the Loeb site to utilise the advanced features of the digital Loeb Classical Library including saving searches, creating bookmarks and annotations.
Google Like a Pro
Did you know that there are over 40 search operators that you can use to search Google more effectively, many of which can be used in Scholar too? Here are the top five that I use consistently, plus a Handout that we produced for a workshop for postgrads this year.
New Theology & Religion Books