Māori Studies: Taonga / Taoka Pūoro
Looking to the past for your future.
Taonga / Taoka Pūoro Databases
- Taoka Pūoro : Music Websites
A collection of links to online resources and websites about taoka pūoro - music. (ChCh) - Taonga Pūoro : National Digital Heritage Archive
Dr Richard Nunns : ngā taonga pūoro
Traditional Māori musical instruments. - Taonga Pūoro : Traditional Māori Instruments
RNZ interviews and sound bytes. Featuring compositions using taonga pūoro. Amelia Nurse spoke to composers and performers about the issues of combining Māori and Western music. - The sounds of Taoka Pūoro : Otago Musuem
This collection of images and sounds is designed to be used as a learning tool for tamariki, to explore the sounds of Māori music and the technology used to create these sounds. - Archive of Māori and Pacific Sound : Auckland University
The collection spans materials from 1919 to the present and includes vocal and instrumental music, oral histories, stories, and language resources from Aotearoa New Zealand, and the Pacific.
- Hocken Collections Te Uare Taoka o Hākena: Music and audiovisual material
The Hocken’s music and audiovisual collections encompass sheet music, sound recordings, film and television created by New Zealanders, or about New Zealand, and New Zealanders. - The Sir Howard Morrison Collection
NZ On Screen - Sir Howard Morrison (1935 - 2009) was a Kiwi show business icon. This collection is a celebration of 'Ol' Brown Eyes' on screen. From classic concerts and performances of 'Whakaaria Mai', to riffing with Billy T James. - Māori Hi-Five
The Māori Hi-Five is considered the first true Māori showband: The group exemplified the genre. - When The Haka became Boggie
Acts like The Howard Morrison Quartet, The Māori Volcanics, The Quin Tikis and The Māori Hi-Fives took songs from marae to international cabarets. - Māori ShowbandsThe Maori Showbands borrowed from many musical forms to create their own genre of live entertainment.
Database Tutorials
- Ngā Mōteatea (Book 1) : NZ Folk Song
"Nga Moteatea The Songs" editor A. T. Ngata (2007) Index of all four books. All of Part One is on-line
Texts and annotations in Maori and English - Aotearoa Song Book, Vol 1.
Discover The Aotearoa Songbook, a digital platform supported by APRA AMCOS NZ, The Māori Women's Welfare League, and The Ministry for Culture & Heritage. - Te Reo Waiata Playlist : Spotify
NZ On Air. In collaboration with Te Māngai Pāho, we have curated this collection of songs to celebrate some of Aotearoa's finest waiata with this Te Reo Māori playlist. - Māori Television : Music
On-Demand Māori television in Te Reo concentrating on music. - Waiata Anthems
A celebration of Te Reo Māori in popular New Zealand music.
Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.