Physiotherapy: Research Support
Research Support - recent resources to share
- Indigenous Pacific research modelsExplore a range of indigenous approaches/methods/methodologies to research used by different countries.
- Finding Kaupapa Māori research resourcesHow to search for these resources, including recommended books.
Library Postgraduate Sessions via Zoom - 2024, Semester 2
These Library Information Sessions are provided specifically for postgraduate students. All Semester 1 sessions will be held on a Tuesday at 10:30 via Zoom - check below for Semester 2 dates. For more information and to register book now via this link
| 13 August | 10:30 - 11:30 | Thesis Information | For new thesis students: covers preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing. |
| 20 August | 10:30 - 11:30 | Introduction to Effective Search Strategies |
Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results. |
| 27 August | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Research Data Management |
Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving. |
| 10 September | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Getting Published |
Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission. |
| 24 September | 10:30 - 11:30 | Introduction to Researcher Profiles |
Building online profiles to promote your research, and yourself. |
| 1 October | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Research Impact & Metrics |
Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish. |
Postgraduate Library Services
Been away from study for a while? Want to refresh your skills so you can 'hit the ground running'?
Check the PG Library Information Sessions and Workshops in this guide - there are recordings, slides, handouts and links to support you. If you prefer a Zoom session this year book ahead now for Zoom workshops. 
Research Publishing & Impact
Publishing your research requires these steps in order to maximise your research impact.
- Get published ... But, before you submit your publication, ensure you...
- Increase your researcher visibility ... By sharing your research... and finally,
- Track the citations for your publications ... To measure your research impact.
Research Lifecycle - refer to sections on Publish & Share, and Research Impact, for support as a new researcher.
The Research Publishing & Impact guide directs you to the key resources for getting published, establishing a researcher profile, and measuring and maximising your research impact.
- Keep up to dateSet up an account then set up alerts to forthcoming research in various databases, including Google Scholar!
Conferences
Conference papers are an excellent source of current research, best practices and new innovations in a research area.
- Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch across Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Inspec, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Citation databases
If you find a great article on your topic, you can use a citation database to track down related articles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the world's leading citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Index Chemicus; Book Citation Index; and, Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers the highest impact journals, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings.
Writing Your Thesis
- OUR ArchiveAll Otago theses and dissertations are required to be deposited in the OUR Archive. Depositors have the option to make their dissertation or thesis available in full-text.