Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physiotherapy: Home

Library Services - Orange Light

COVID-19 Orange Light - Libraries, including Group Study Rooms, are open; please ensure safe distancing in these spaces. Face masks are strongly recommended whilst working indoors.                                Practise good hand hygiene.

Libraries are only open to University staff and students, except for Hocken Library (public also permitted). Library staff are available via LibChat and email ask.library@otago.ac.nz, Monday to Friday, 8:30–5:00pm.

Be on our OU-WIFI so we can track & trace all users.

Latest news is on our Library homepage.

Have a question? Try our AskOtago FAQs page or try our AskLibrary FAQs page.

LWW Health Library (trial)

https://s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/accounts/112387/images/lww-health-library2.png

The LWW Health Library platform provides authoritative texts, multimedia resources, and teaching & learning tools for medical education and the health professions. Access is available at this stage through to the end of 2020.

You have access to texts, cases, self-assessment tools, procedure videos and audio files covering 12 specialist subject collections: Advanced Practice Nursing, Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, Exercise Science, Medical Education, Occupational Therapy, Oncology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Physiotherapy, Pharmacy, Speech Language Hearing, and Surgery.

All collections can be searched through a single search box, or each collection can be searched individually.

There is a separate page for staff members wishing to make use of LWW Health Library content.

About This Guide

This Guide brings together important research resources for Physiotherapy. These include databases & journals, major reference works, and other key sources.

Different types of resources are available via the navigation bar, above.

For further assistance with finding physiotherapy research materials, please contact Thelma Fisher, Subject Librarian for Physiotherapy.

Services for Distance Students

Students on placement, and other postgraduates based outside of Dunedin are eligible to use the free Services for Distance Students, to receive books and articles by post or email.

For help using Library resources and searching the research literature, please contact your Subject Librarian, Thelma Fisher.

New Resources

AccessPhysiotherapy is now available until late 2024!

This includes Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine 5e, v.1-2, lots more ebooks, videos, and supporting tools (case-based learning, images, quick references to outcome measures, a drug database and multimedia).  Check this guide to make best use of this authoritative, trusted and current information sources.

                              

Also try AccessMedicine which includes 130+ books and other resources including drug monographs, case studies, multimedia and study aids from the major health publisher McGraw-Hill. Included among the books are Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment.

Latest news/Did you know?

undefined

A clinical reference and image tool that represents the best available evidence drawn from medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Updated daily. Browse by topic or search by keywords. Sign in so you can 'Follow' alerts to Topic updates.

A clinical decision support tool for health professionals that provides access to the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion in a single source. BMJ Best Practice includes differential diagnosis tables, treatment algorithms, videos of common clinical procedures, integrated evidence from Cochrane Clinical Answers, over 250 medical calculators and more.

CCA (via OVID or Wiley) provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. The content is designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care.

***************************************************************************************

Looking for an easy way to find out what new books are available in the Health Sciences Library?

New books for Health Sciences Library

ClinicalKey Collection

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Thelma Fisher
Contact:
thelma.fisher@otago.ac.nz
479 7237
Health Sciences Library, Room 104, 290 Great King St, Dunedin
Phone or email me for an appointment.
Zoom meetings on request.

Health Sciences Library

Sayers Building, 290 Great King Street (opp. main entrance to hospital)

Ph: 479 7401

Opening hoursFloorplan

Licensing

Creative Commons Licence
This work in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.