Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medicine: Home

About this Guide

This guide will help you find relevant databases, books, journals, websites and specialist resources for your research in medicine. There is a linked guide that will also help you find relevant evidence-based clinical resources.

You can also make an appointment to see one of us, your subject specialist librarians, if you'd like some support with your research. This guide is always a work in progress, so we welcome suggestions for additional content.

Library Services - Orange Light

COVID-19 Orange Light - Libraries, including Group Study Rooms, are open; please ensure safe distancing in these spaces. Face masks are strongly recommended whilst working indoors.                                Practise good hand hygiene.

Libraries are only open to University staff and students, except for Hocken Library (public also permitted). Library staff are available via LibChat and email ask.library@otago.ac.nz, Monday to Friday, 8:30–5:00pm.

Be on our OU-WIFI so we can track & trace all users.

Latest news is on our Library homepage.

Have a question? Try our AskOtago FAQs page or try our AskLibrary FAQs page.

LWW Health Library (trial)

https://s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/accounts/112387/images/lww-health-library2.png

The LWW Health Library platform provides authoritative texts, multimedia resources, and teaching & learning tools for medical education and the health professions. Access is available at this stage through to the end of 2020.

You have access to texts, cases, self-assessment tools, procedure videos and audio files covering 12 specialist subject collections: Advanced Practice Nursing, Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, Exercise Science, Medical Education, Occupational Therapy, Oncology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Physiotherapy, Pharmacy, Speech Language Hearing, and Surgery.

All collections can be searched through a single search box, or each collection can be searched individually.

There is a separate page for staff members wishing to make use of LWW Health Library content.

New resource: AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine delivers indispensable support and invaluable online solutions in medical education and clinical practice through these interactive features:

Leading medical textbooks – More than 100 references help students succeed throughout their medical education, including the latest editions of the world’s most respected medical texts such as Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.

Extensive multimedia library – A unique collection of  examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations that feature complicated concepts presented in terms students can understand are available, including videos illustrating fundamental medical concepts drawn from the world’s most trusted medical textbook, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine.

Differential Diagnosis Tool – Connect to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a tool that saves you time by allowing you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.

There is a separate guide (maintained by McGraw-Hill) with very useful information on this resource.

 

John Murtagh Collection

AccessMedicine: John Murtagh’s General Practice Collection, or Murtagh Collection for short, provides an indispensable source of information for medical professionals and students alike. For more than 20 years, John Murtagh’s General Practice has been regarded throughout Australasia as the authoritative reference for practicing and aspiring GPs. The seventh edition of John Murtagh’s General Practice includes updates to sexual health and cervical cancer screening, mental health diagnosis and treatment, and chronic disorders which forms the backbone of this digital collection.

Developed over 20 years, the success of this collection stems from the fact that the content is written from the point of view of an experienced general practitioner, underscored by John Murtagh’s diagnostic strategy model. The easy-to-read texts in this collection are coupled with numerous illustrations and photographs and are invaluable, trusted references.

Diversity in Medicine Resources

AccessMedicine features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessMedicine, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessMedicine highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases.

What Is Clinical Sports Medicine Collection?

About Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine

The Clinical Sports Medicine Collection comprises the world-leading Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine, the essential authoritative foundation for clinicians and students.

The fifth edition Volume 1: Injuries is the essential guide to all aspects of preventing, diagnosing and treating sports-related injuries. It serves physiotherapists, team clinicians, athletic trainers, sports therapists, sports rehabilitators and trainers, as well as students in the health professions and in Human Movement Studies.

The Exercise Medicine Collection — abridged content from the fourth edition — serves general practitioners and other clinicians who prescribe exercise to promote health and to treat medical conditions such as heart disease and diabetes. Additional content will be forthcoming in Volume 2: Exercise Medicine.

The collection also includes more than 40 video master classes showing procedures such as foot examination, hip injections and basic bio-mechanical assessment.

Satisfaction Rating

Subject Librarian | Kaitiaki Pukapuka

Profile Photo
Christy Ballard
Contact:
Health Sciences Library - Rm 102 (1st floor of the Sayers Building).
(03) 479 7459
Website