Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Postgraduate Introduction to Library Services and Resources: M - P

This guide contains information on library services and resources of interest to postgraduate students.

Managing Your References Guide

Reference managers (also known as citation managers or bibliographic management software) provide many useful features to help you with your research. The University of Otago has licensed access to EndNote.  The Managing Your References guide provides information on Endnote and other commonly used reference managers.  

Managing Your Research Data Guide

This guide presents recommended practices for data management in five main areas of activity.

Multimedia Databases

Watch films, documentaries, television programmes, or listen to music, from the comfort of your computer.  The Library subscribes to a number of Multimedia databases including eTV and Academic Video Online.

Open Access

Open Access is a new model of scholarly communication based on the principle that research should be freely accessible online, for anyone to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, link to etc.  The advantages of Open Access include, making research easier to discover, wider dissemination of research, and increased citations.  

OUR Archive

Otago University Research (OUR) Archive is an institutional repository.  Institutional repositories are secure and stable places to store research outputs in digital format. They also provide public access to quality research outputs, published and unpublished.  Did you know that from now on, a copy of all completed University of Otago theses get deposited into OUR Archive? As an author you get to decide whether or not you want the full content publicly available?

OUR Heritage

Otago University Research (OUR) Heritage is a digital window to the cultural, heritage and historical material within the University of Otago's Hocken Collections and Special Collections.  Collections include Botanial Teaching Wallcharts, Works by Colin McCahon, Works by Ralph Hotere and Dr Hocken's Original Pictures.

Publish or Perish

Publish or Perish is open source software that allows you to retrieve and analyse Google Scholar data.  Use Publish or Perish to produce simple statistics (number of papers, number of citations etc), as well as more complex statistics (H-index, G-index etc), for individual authors, journals and topics.

Research Publishing & Impact Guide

Uses include:

  •    deciding where to publish
  •    applying for funding
  •    applying for promotion
  •    applying for a position
  •    writing bursary applications

Covers calculating journal impact factors, calculating H-index, journal ranking lists, and more...