Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Postgraduate Introduction to Library Services and Resources: R - S

This guide contains information on library services and resources of interest to postgraduate students.

Recommend a Book

Is there a book central to your research but not owned by the Library?  Is there an e-book you would prefer in print format?  Have you noticed a gap in the Library’s collection?  Please let us know by using the book recommendation form on the Library website.

Requesting in Library Search | Ketu

Library Search l Ketu has a requesting function in the "Available in the Library" box that allows you to:

1.      request the return of a book on loan to someone else

2.      send a book from one University of Otago Library to another for pick up and;

3.      for distance students to request books for home delivery.

You will be notified by email when your request has been filled and the item is ready for collection.

Scan and Request

When you sign in to Library Search | Ketu you can access extra services. A Scan Request is for requesting a chapter or journal article from a print resource to be emailed to you. A Request lets you arrange for a book to be delivered to the hold-shelf of the library nearest you.  

Self-Help Guide

Are you the DIY type?  Do you enjoy video tutorials, online learning modules, and PDF guides?  Or do you simply not have the time or ability to come to the Library for face to face assistance?  Then check out the Self-Help guide.

Special Collections

Special Collections is located on the first floor of the Central Library and comprises a number of collections containing rare, valuable, and historically significant works. On the Library Catalogue use the Advanced Search to limit to material with a location of “Special Collections”.

Study Smart Blackboard Tab

Keep an eye out for Study Smart next time you check Blackboard.  Study Smart tabs contain lots of information on services and resources that can help you with your studies.  Not only learn about what the Library offers, but find information on other services like Student IT and the Student Learning Centre.

Subject Guides

Subject guides point you towards the key information resources in your subject area including the best databases to search for articles, how to find and borrow books from libraries across New Zealand and beyond, and where to find theses, dissertations, conference papers and other hard to locate literature.

Subject Librarian

Would you like a tailored one on one search skills session with a librarian familiar with the key resources in your area of study? Want to know how to set up EndNote and import references from the databases you use?  Want help finding a resource or accessing a service?  Then contact your Liaison Librarian.