LibGuides: Medicine: Rural Medical Immersion Programme (RMIP)

Library resources for the Rural Medical Immersion Programme (RMIP)

These resources are designed to be useful to the fifth-year medical students and academic staff involved in the one-year-long Rural Medical Immersion Programme (RMIP) of the Otago Medical School, University of Otago.

Please make sure that you use the Library resources that relate to which of the three clinical schools of Otago School of Medicine you are affliated with; Dunedin, Wellington or Christchurch.

Do you host University of Otago students?

If you host a student in your General Practice, you are eligible to have access to Library resources. Once you are signed off you have access to Library resources for two years before it needs to be renewed. Please contact Ms Elise Velenski (details below) and she will be able to help you with this.

Ms Elise Velenski
elise.velenski@otago.ac.nz

Lead Administrator

Dunedin School of Medicine
University of Otago | Te Whare Wānanga o Otāgo
Mobile/Waea pūkoro +64 021 279 0501
Hours/Haora puare Mon-Fri | 8:45am - 4:30pm

Are you a student on placement?

If you're on placement you can use the Distance Library Service and find out more about this service here: Students on Placement

You can request:

books sent to your temporary address (sent by courier at no cost to you - same with returning them)
scans of book chapters and articles to be emailed to you

In order to make sure the Library sends items to the correct address:

Update your Semester address to your temporary address whilst you're on placement in eVision before placing requests.
All library emails are sent to your @otago email address so please check this email address or set up forwarding to the email address you do use. You can find out how to do that here: Student Webmail

Want subscription apps on your phone?

It's best to download these apps for the first time whilst you are on campus and connected to the university network. Then you'll need to make sure you connect at least once every 3 months in order to keep the app active and for the updates. Please ensure that you are accessing the resources from the correct Library webpage e.g. a Dunedin student should go through the Dunedin databases page.

DynaMed
Available on iPhone & Android
more...less...
A clinical reference tool that represents the best available evidence drawn from medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. The content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. New information is integrated into existing content daily. Christchurch campus staff and students need to use their campus link to DynaMed Plus. Wellington campus staff and students need to use their link to DynaMed Plus.
BMJ Best Practice
Available on iPhone & Android
more...less...
A clinical decision support tool for health professionals that provides access to the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion in a single source. BMJ Best Practice includes differential diagnosis tables, treatment algorithms, videos of common clinical procedures, integrated evidence from Cochrane Clinical Answers, over 250 medical calculators and more.

Academic Integrity

Academic Integrity at Otago
What is the meaning of academic integrity? Academic integrity means being honest in your studying and assessments. It is the basis for ethical decision-making and behaviour in an academic context. Academic integrity is informed by the values of honesty, trust, responsibility, fairness, respect and courage.
Avoiding plagiarism with correct referencing
What do I reference? How do I reference? How do I use quotations? How do I paraphrase or summarise?
HEDC Digital Resources list
The Student Learning Development team have produced some excellent online resources to help you with a wide range of common tasks and also recommends web-based resources developed by our team and other services at the University of Otago.
HEDC Tip Sheet - Quoting, paraphrasing & summarising

Referencing properly

Library referencing resources
Referencing and citing are cornerstones of assignment writing and academia. This Library resource includes links to resources on Vancouver, APA, and other referencing styles.
Vancouver referencing style
The Vancouver style is commonly used in medical and scientific journals (e.g. by the National Library of Medicine and the American Medical Association) and for the health sciences, with slight style variations between journals (e.g. use of superscript). Vancouver is a numbered style, where a number is allocated to a source in the order in which it is cited in the text (if it is cited again, the same number is used).
Vancouver style examples
Common examples of Vancover referenced resources used by students that the Library has put together e.g. NZF, Medsafe data sheets, electronic journal articles etc.
EndNote reference management software
EndNote is a software tool that you can use to manage bibliographies and references. It enables you to create your bibliographies in word-processing software such as Microsoft Word and WordPerfect and store all of your bibliographic references in your own private, searchable reference library. This resource includes links to EndNote resources such as guides for PC and Mac, short video's demonstrating EndNote and online Zoom workshops you can sign up for (and are free!).
Ordering EndNote software through ITS
You can get EndNote for your own device for free from ITS. You just need to log in using your user name and password to fill in the form. You will be emailed to advise how you can download the software.

Links to resrouces previous students have found useful

These are non-library resources but have been mentioned by past students as being useful.

Quiz questions and remediation resources

Ackland's Anatomy (only available to Dunedin campus users) and LWW Health Library both offer quiz questions and remdiation as a part of their content. Students will need to create a self-registration personal account which will allow them to use the quiz.

Rural and Remote Health Toolkit

We are pleased to announce the latest Toolkit curated by the Elsevier team. This Toolkit focuses on Rural and Remote Health.

Within this ClinicalKey for Nursing toolkit you will find links to some of the latest journal articles, books and drug information relevant to Rural and Remote Health in Australia and New Zealand

The importance of rural and remote health in the Australian and New Zealand region stems from the ethical obligation to provide equitable healthcare services to all populations, regardless of their geographic location. Addressing these concerns requires policy initiatives, innovative healthcare delivery models, increased investment in healthcare infrastructure, and a comprehensive approach to Indigenous health. By focusing on rural and remote health, the ANZ region can strive towards achieving better health outcomes for all its residents.

ClinicalKey - Rural and Remote Health Toolkit

John Murtagh Collection

AccessMedicine: John Murtagh’s General Practice Collection, or Murtagh Collection for short, provides an indispensable source of information for medical professionals and students alike. For more than 20 years, John Murtagh’s General Practice has been regarded throughout Australasia as the authoritative reference for practicing and aspiring GPs. The seventh edition of John Murtagh’s General Practice includes updates to sexual health and cervical cancer screening, mental health diagnosis and treatment, and chronic disorders which forms the backbone of this digital collection.

Developed over 20 years, the success of this collection stems from the fact that the content is written from the point of view of an experienced general practitioner, underscored by John Murtagh’s diagnostic strategy model. The easy-to-read texts in this collection are coupled with numerous illustrations and photographs and are invaluable, trusted references.