Media, Film & Communication: Databases
Databases
- Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
- MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Source documents include journal articles, books, and dissertations. Access to the MLA's Directory of Periodicals is also provided.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowA leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing.
- Communication & Mass Media CollectionFocused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
- Pop Culture StudiesAccess scholarly journals and magazines that both analyse and contribute to popular culture.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage of all aspects of communication and mass media.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch across Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Inspec, and Zoological Record.
- AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloguing currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.
- Arts Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe Arts Premium Collection provides cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in specialist subject fields. Subject areas include art, design, architecture, humanities, film/screen studies, music, performing arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields, the Arts Premium Collection supports academic inquiry and is a rich source for comprehensive arts literature reviews.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic resource covering academic and popular film journals up to the present day. The database also provides access to many of the articles in full-text.
- Film Index International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
- NZ on ScreenVideo interviews with, biography, and details of cast and crews of Aotearoa film productions.
Audio Visual
Audio Visual
- Digital Theatre Plus
Provides access to high quality films of leading British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews. - eTV
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register. - Kanopy
A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers. - Alexander Street
Alexander Street are curated, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Databases Help
- Database Search Tips PDF
Two page PDF detailing keyword and boolean search tips, Google Scholar boolean search tips, and reverse citation searching.