Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Postgraduate Introduction to Library Services and Resources: E - L

This guide contains information on library services and resources of interest to postgraduate students.

E-Books

The e-book collection is always growing.  The benefits of e-books include: being able to access a book from anywhere, being able to keyword search the entire text, and having more than one person accessing a book at the same time.  Read e-books online or download to your computer or mobile device.  

Endnote

EndNote is a reference management tool that helps you save and manage bibliographic references. Direct export references into EndNote from catalogues and databases. Organise your references into groups.  Store copies of files with your references. Display your references in the citation style of your choice.  The ‘cite as you write’ function allows you to insert citations into a word document and will automatically create a corresponding bibliography.

Interloan

The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests. 

Group Study Rooms

Need a space for your study group to meet?  Worried you will make too much noise in the library? Group study rooms are located at many of the Library branches and can be booked online up to one week in advance.  You may book up to 3 hours per group per day. 

Hakena

The Hakena database provides information about the Archives & Manuscripts, Photograph and Picture Collections held in the Hocken Library. The Hocken Collections Archives and Manuscripts Section collects material of national importance but particular emphasis is placed on documenting the history of Otago and Southland.

Keeping up to date

Keeping up to date with new research is important.  E-mail alerts can help you do this.  Set up an alert in a database for an author, journal, or set of search terms.  When new material is added that matches your alert you will be e-mailed.  

Library Search | Ketu

 

 Library Search | Ketu is located on the Library homepage.  It allows you to search the Library's print, electronic, music and image holdings, and a large number of library databases, from one single search box.  Once you have a set of results, Library Search | Ketu gives you a number of choices for refining them.  You can export records from Library Search | Ketu into EndNote. You can Save your Search, and Set Alerts.