Skip to main content

Managing Your References: Mendeley

Mendeley Support

Please explore the following links for helpful Mendeley training resources.

Merndeley on Twitter

What is Mendeley?

Mendeley is a free reference manager that can help you discover and organize the latest research in your field. As an academic social network tool it can help you collaborate with others online.

Mendeley can automatically generate bibliographies, import papers from other research software like EndNote, RefWorks and Zotero, and help youfind relevant papers based on what you’re reading.

Go to www.mendeley.com to find out more, or watch this video on the benefits of Mendeley.

Compare Mendeley with other reference managers.

Mendeley What it can do

Build a library:

Direct Export

  • From some online databases

Capture

  • Bibliographic data from:
    • Online databases
    • Google Scholar
    • Online pdfs
    • Other library catalogues
  • Webpage snapshots

Offline pdf of full text

  • drag and drop pdf into Mendeley desktop
  • import details from all pdf documents in a folder
  • create a watch folder - a record will be created for any full text pdf added to the folder

Indirect Export

From online databases and other reference management software

Import files saved as XML, BibTex or RIS.

Go to: Mendeley Support - Importing documents to learn how to do this.

Build bibliographies:

With Mendeley you can cite references and create bibliographies in MS Word and Open Office using a Mendeley word processor plugin.

For a list of citation styles available see here.

To find out how to download the MS Word and Open Officle plugin view the 'Generating citations' video here. 

 

Mendeley Get it

Click on the link below to sign up and download a copy of Mendeley.

Sign up and download Mendeley

 

Mendeley Tech Info

The following links will tell you if Mendeley will work on your machine, and how to get help if you should run into trouble.

System requirements for Mendeley

Browser compatibility:

  • Internet Explorer 7, 8, 9
  • Firefox 6 and newer
  • Chrome 14 and newer
  • Safari 5 and newer

Mendeley FAQs