Skip to main content

Law subject guide: Europe

Quicklinks: Europe

Coming soon!

Europe

This page is for material from Europe, including legislation, case law, law commission material.

We're still working on updating the content but in the meantime, here is what we had on the old (2010) subject guide. Right-click to open these links in a new tab or window.

Legislation

Public 
access Council of Europe treaties - Treaty texts with explanatory reports Full text
Public 
access EUR-LEX - The key portal for European Union law, including consolidated legislation  
Further 
information LEXIS - Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Includes New Zealand Administrative Reports (1995+), District Court Reports (1996+), NZ Resource Management Appeals (1991+). Full text | NZ Content
Further 
information Westlaw - Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Full text

 

Case law

Public 
access Court of Justice of the European Communities (via BAILII) - Free decisions from 1954 to date, including those of the Court of First Instance, through the BAILII site and search engine. Full text
Public 
access European Court of Human Rights - A free database of fulltext decisions of the European Court of Human Rights and the former European Commission of Human Rights), 1960 on. Use of the Help screens is advisable for successful searching. Full text
Public 
access European Patent Office - Under "Official Communications" includes Decisions of the Administrative Council and the Official Journal, from 1997. The latter, which includes Decisions of the Boards of Appeal, is browseable, by date, or can be searched, but only after downloading the files and the reader/search engine.  
Further 
information LEXIS - Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Includes New Zealand Administrative Reports (1995+), District Court Reports (1996+), NZ Resource Management Appeals (1991+). Full text | NZ Content
Further 
information Westlaw - Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Full text

 

Other Resources

 

Public 
access Guide to EU Law - Recommended guide, by Marylin Raisch  
Further 
information Legal Journals Index (via Westlaw) - Gives more detailed coverage of UK and European law journals than Legaltrac  
Public 
access Rave (Law Journal Index) - An index to articles on European law, from Heinrich-Heine-Universität. Over 180 journals are indexed from 1995. Emphasis on European journals.  
Public 
access The EU (European Union) - Use the 'Documents' tab to access resources, including the key databases, EUR-LEX and CELEX.  
Public 
access Worldlii: World Legal Information Institute - Directory of free legal Web sites, with a search engine for searching their contents. Useful for tracing sites for specific countries.