Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Australia and the Pacific
This page is for material from Australia and the Pacific, including legislation, case law, and law commission materials.
Lexis Advance US
Thousands of full-text judgements and journal articles on US, foreign, and international law. Includes NZ Resource Management Appeals (1991+).
Includes Australian case law - use Cases advanced search template
Federal Register of Legislation
The Federal Register of Legislation is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them.
Australian case law
Colonial case law
Selected 19th century decisions from New South Wales and Tasmania, as well as Privy Council Decisions.
For best results, use the Cases advanced search template, and filter by jurisdiction.
Australian government & parliament
JADE Alert Services. High Court Australia
- Australian Federation Fulltext Database - Primary source texts of Australian Federation, including the debates of the 1890s, major participants' accounts and memoirs, and related texts.
- Australian Law on the Internet - A substantial listing of sites, under a wide range of categories, including government and parliamentary material.
- Australian Treaties Library - Access to treaty texts and status information, as well as links to related material.
- [Australian] Indigenous Law Resources - AustLII's collections of full-text resources.
- Government Publications Register - For access to state and federal agencies which have publications on their web sites.
- GovPubs: Australian Government Publications Guide - A guide to Commonwealth and State publications such as bills, acts, Hansard etc and their locations on the Web or in key Australian libraries.
- Law and Justice Foundation (NSW) - A directory for Australian legal sites, via its 'Legislation & Parliament ' and 'Judgments & Courts' buttons.
- Law reform agencies - Up-to-date links to all law reform agencies, from the Australian Law Reform Commission site.
- National Native Title Tribunal - Official government site relating to aboriginal land.
- Native Title Infobase - Australian Federal Courts site which indexes and abstracts extensive Australian resources from 1839 plus some material from other countries.
- Researching Australian Law - Nicholas Pengelley's overview of the legal system and research resources.
General guides to Australian legal research
There are general guides to legal research in the Law Library at and around K79. Some of these are specifically for Australia, for example Sue Milne's Practical guide to legal research (Law K79 MM856).
Online guides will link you to other research material as well as to primary sources. Start with these ones: