Law subject guide: NZ government and parliament
Quicklinks: NZ government & parliament
- NZ ParliamentInformation about our MPs, parties, electorates, parliament and parliamentary business (including Bills, Select Committees, Hansard, Journals, As to Js, papers and petitions)
- Beehive - Latest News From the Beehive This link opens in a new windowMedia releases, speeches, newsletters and an image gallery.
- Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet This link opens in a new windowIncludes a list of Ministers and their responsibilities, and information about Cabinet Committees.
- Local Councils New Zealand Website This link opens in a new windowInformation about local government and how it works in New Zealand from the Department of Internal Affairs.
- New Zealand Law Commission This link opens in a new window
Te Tiriti o Waitangi
- New Zealand Made : Stories from StuffA collection of stories, including personal narratives and journalistic articles, collected in 2018.
- The treaty of Waitangi: a brief historyTwo interactive videos relating to the changes in New Zealand land ownership since 1840. Hosted on Stuff, 2018.
 |
Te Tiriti o Waitangi by Ross Calman and Mark Derby illustrated by Toby Morris This comic provides a fresh approach to the story of Te Tiriti o Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. It covers a wide time span, from the arrival of Polynesian explorers to the signing of Te Tiriti, to the New Zealand Wars, and through to the modern-day Treaty settlement process. A special emphasis is put on unpacking the two versions of Te Tiriti and exploring their ongoing significance. Audio file available here http://instructionalseries.tki.org.nz/Instructional-Series/School-Journal-Story-Library/Te-Tiriti-o-Waitangi. |
Resources relating to parliament
This section focuses on the law-making role of parliament. For a broader view of parliament, look at the NZ Parliament subject guide.
The best source of information about or created by parliament is the New Zealand Parliament site (www.parliament.nz). Most of the links below are within that site.
All hardcopy parliamentary materials are in the Law Library, including time-periods that are unavailable online. See the Law Librarian for a quick tour.
- New Zealand ParliamentInformation about our MPs, parties, electorates, parliament and parliamentary business (including Bills, Select Committees, Hansard, journals, papers and petitions)
- New Zealand Parliament - billsSearchable database; contains information about the progress of the bill; provides links to the bill itself and to related documents including Hansard debates and Bills Digests.
- New Zealand Parliament - Standing OrdersStanding Orders of the House of Representatives are the rules of procedure for the House and its committees.
- New Zealand Parliament Hansard via Knowledge BasketClick on Databases > NZ Legislation. Access to the debates starts from 1988-
- Parliamentary Hansard ReportsHansard is the official report of debate in the House of Representatives. It’s produced by editors, who go into the debating chamber and report what members of Parliament (MPs) say. Fully searchable 2003 onwards.
- Parliamentary BulletinThe Parliamentary Bulletin is published at the end of each sitting week. It contains information about the business of the House and its committees from that week and any prior non-sitting weeks. The Parliamentary Bulletin includes the Journal, information about select committees and their business, the weekly progress of legislation (a record of all bills that have been or are before the House for the current Parliament), and the Leader of the House’s Business statement which briefly outlines bills for consideration in the next sitting week
- Parliamentary Debates: 1854 -1989via Hathi Trust
- Parliamentary practice in New ZealandOnline version of David McGee's book.
Resources relating to government
- Archway This link opens in a new windowContains descriptive information about historic data created by the Government.
- Beehive - Latest News From the Beehive This link opens in a new windowInformation about Ministers, their portfolios; major Government initiatives and policies; speeches, press releases.
- Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet This link opens in a new windowThe Department provides administrative support to government. It includes the Cabinet Office.
- Local Councils New Zealand Website This link opens in a new windowInformation about local government and how it works in New Zealand from the Department of Internal Affairs.
- New Zealand Government Online This link opens in a new windowGateway to just about everything. You can search and browse the online information, services and resources offered by New Zealand government organisations including ministries, courts, Law Commission, ombudsmen.
- New Zealand Law Commission This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Law Commission Twitter feed
NZ Parliament on YouTube
Find out about all things Parliament through the medium of video. I recommend "How Laws are Made", and "Select committees 101"
How Laws Are Made Select committees 101