Archaeology: Archaeological Practice
Archaeological Practice
Image by Wikimedia commons. CC.
Databases
- Web of Science
Search across all subscribed Web of Science databases: Web of Science Core Collection; BIOSIS Citation Index; Current Contents Connect; Inspec; KCI-Korean Journal Database; MEDLINE; Russian Science Citation Index; SciELO Citation Index; and, Zoological Record. - Science Direct
Access full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering. - Anthropological Index Online
The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library, which incorporates the former RAI holdings, covering all branches and areas of anthropology. - Sketchfab
Sketchfab is a 3D modeling platform website to publish, share, discover, buy, and sell 3D, VR, and AR content. This includes photogrammetry. - Index New Zealand
A searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from New Zealand periodicals and newspapers. The periodicals range from academic research journals to magazines. - Anthropology - Alexander Street
The Alexander Street Anthropology collections offer comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. - World Archaeological Congress - Code of Ethics
The World Archaeological Congress (WAC) is a not-for-profit organization and forum for discussion for anyone who is concerned with the study of the past. WAC seeks to promote interest in the past in all countries, to encourage the development of regionally-based histories and to foster international academic interaction. - UNESCO World Heritage Convention
A World Heritage Site is a landmark or area with legal protection by an international convention administered by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. World Heritage Sites are designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other form of significance. - AIA & Archaeology Magazine - Interactive Digs
Archaeologists conduct excavations all over the world, from the Arctic regions to tropical jungles to modern cities, and the timing of their seasons depends on local weather conditions as well as other factors, such as national holidays. A look back at some excavations ("digs") from around the world. - Virtual Archaeology - The Westport Library
We often associate virtual reality (VR) with thrilling experiences we may never be able to have in real life. An archaeological site can be inaccessible for a range of reasons. VR technologies are starting to open up remote access to sites around the world, and the application of immersive technologies are proliferating across the globe.
Practical Archaeology eBooks
Archaeology in Practice : A Student Guide to Archaeological Analyses by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118323823Publication Date: 2013It features the latest methodologies, a wealth of case studies from around the world, and contributions from leading specialists in archaeological materials analysis.
Nondestructive testing for archaeology and cultural heritage : a practical guide and new perspectives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783030018993Publication Date: 2019This textbook provides a general introduction to the most important nondestructive testing (NDT) exploration methods for cultural heritage sites. It highlights the application of NDT exploration methods to archaeology and monumental property.
Field archaeology an introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138303546Publication Date: 2011Field Archaeology: An Introduction has proved to be a key handbook for all those undertaking introductory courses in archaeology or volunteering on their first excavation.
Field archaeology from around the world : ideas and approaches by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319098197Publication Date: 2015Field practice in archaeology varies greatly throughout the world, mainly because archaeological sites survive in very different ways in different counties.
Field Methods and Post-Excavation Techniques in Late Antique Archaeology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004277021Publication Date: 2015Archaeologists working on late antique sites have not spent enough time thinking about methodology. Their focus has been on recovering and cataloguing evidence, or on the study of specific historical problems.
Audio Visual
Audio Visual
- Digital Theatre Plus
Provides access to high quality films of leading British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews. - eTV
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register. - Kanopy
A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers. - Alexander StreetAlexander Street are curated, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Related Subject Guides
Volunteer at NZ Archaeological Digs
Image by: Stanleydale Wikimedia Commons
This is a listing of opportunities for students and members of the public to volunteer on archaeological sites in New Zealand. If you wish to advertise a volunteer opportunity here, please contact us.
Heritage New Zealand welcomes enquiries from both members and non-members who are interested in offering their services on a voluntary basis. For further information, contact your nearest Heritage New Zealand office.
Founded in 1955 and one of the oldest clubs on campus, the Auckland Archaeological Society (ArchSoc) is a student run organisation at the University of Auckland. The Society is open to students, professional archaeologists and the general public.
Today, we continue to work tirelessly to create new resources and share international travel opportunities, because we believe anyone can find their own way to see the world.
Volunteer at World Archaeological Digs
Image: Fouilles du camp néolithique de Diconche - vue générale
This project focuses on examining how the Casma in the Nepeña valley responded during and after Chimú conquest and how these responses allowed them to persist. Participants will gain excavation skills by uncovering elite Casma and Chimú material culture and intact buried buildings in the mounds.
The Maya Research Program (MRP) is a non-profit organization (501 C3) that sponsors archaeological and ethnographic research in Middle America. MRP has supported archaeological research in northwestern Belize and ethnographic research in Yaxunah, Mexico, and the Blue Creek Archaeological Project.
Students on this project will explore the Gallina culture, a group of Ancestral Pueblo rebels in the region who resisted elites and inequality from A.D. 1100-1300. During this public archaeology field school, students will learn excavation, survey and site assessment, artifact analysis and processing, and public outreach.
A memorial to James Madison and the Enslaved Community, a museum of American history, and a center for constitutional education that engages the public with the enduring legacy of Madison's most powerful idea: government by the people.
Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.