Research Services Unit: Home
What our work involves
Research Services
The RSU work with library colleagues to develop services and advice, supporting Otago researchers, postgraduate students, and departments in areas including bibliometrics, collection development in OUR Archive, OUR Journals service, research data management and digital scholarship.
Tools
The RSU develop and support tools that may help researchers. These include the Enhance Your Online Presence Checklist and an APA citation tool for 100 level Commerce students.
Education
The RSU can provide advisory or training sessions for departments/units on a range of topics including research data management and data management plans, open access publishing, bibliometrics and enhancement of research impacts.
About the RSU
The Research Services Unit (RSU) is a dedicated team of librarians within the University of Otago Library.
The focus of the RSU is:
- to understand the changing scholarly landscape and work with researchers to exploit digital potentials which enhance research outcomes;
- to facilitate the development of tools, resources and services which support both established and emerging researchers;
- to work towards research solutions in partnership with other Otago support services, as appropriate.
The projects shown below illustrate where the Library has been active in partnership with researchers.
Email: library.research@otago.ac.nz
RSU Manager: Lisa Chisholm
Library RSU projects supporting research and researchers
-
Researcher profiles resources
The Research Services Unit, in collaboration with Subject and Reference Librarians, developed a suit of resources to advise Otago academics on their researcher profiles. The service (Enhance Your Online Presence) is intended to help research active staff showcase their work and reach a wider audience. Relevant LibGuide: Research Metrics and Impact (https://otago.libguides.com/RSU/Researcher_profiles) -
Research Impact & Bibliometrics
Creating metrics reports at departmental/research unit level or above using tools available to the University of Otago such as SciVal and Incites. Relevant LibGuide: Research Metrics and Impact (https://otago.libguides.com/Research_Metrics_and_Impact) -
Research data management education
Helping researchers make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving. Relevant LibGuide: Managing Your Research Data (https://otago.libguides.com/data_management)
-
OUR Journals service
The OUR Journals service (OJS) supports Otago academic staff with making scholarly research available online. -
DH needs assessment project
A project led by the Library to ascertain the gaps and opportunities for Digital Humanities research support and services at Otago. -
Bulk upload to OUR Archive
A sustainable workflow that utilises Research Outputs Database (ROD) metadata, code developed by CONZUL, and the Scopus API, to automate the mass ingest of publication metadata into OUR Archive.
-
Research impact case studies
The RSU supported the production of a booklet highlighting the impact of research in the Division of Health Sciences by investigating metrics (bibliometrics and alternative metrics) for the principle investigator. -
Digitisation of sensitive data
Working with researchers in BioChem, the RSU developed a plan and scoped options for digitising a large archive of sensitive data that ensured practice met ethical and practical requirements. -
Humanities database projects
Advising academics from the School of Performing Arts on their respective grant-funded research projects - a Performing Arts Research Archive and a database of Māori and Moriori musical instruments