Medicine: AccessNeurology

Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, 11/e

• The eleventh edition of Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology is now live on AccessMedicine and AccessNeurology. First published by McGraw Hill in 1977, the namesake author of the original text was Raymond Adams, who chaired the MGH Department of Neurology for over 25 years and was widely regarded as the most pre-eminent American neurologist of the 20th century. Ray Adams was instrumental in founding the field of children's neurology in the early 1950s; was a key figure in the creation of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Research Center for Mental Retardation; was elected fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1955; and along with Australian neurologist James Waldo Lance, described posthypoxic myoclonus, later called Lance-Adams syndrome.

• Adams and his cohort, Maurice Victor, began working together early in their careers at Boston City Hospital and co-author more than 100 papers together, along with the first six editions of this text. Maurice Victor was a distinguished neurologist in his own right and made important contributions to the understanding of neurological complications of alcoholism and malnutrition. 

• Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology has since become the most recognized foundational textbook in clinical neurology throughout the world. The eleventh edition covers important innovations in the treatment of neurologic conditions and new research and understanding of the genetic basis of neurologic disease, including:

  • Interventional therapies for acute ischemic stroke
  • Novel immunotherapies used to treat inflammatory and neoplastic conditions, and neurotoxicities associated with these drugs
  • New drugs to treat epilepsy and multiple sclerosis
  • Update of genetics of inherited metabolic disease
  • Current understanding of the genetics of primary nervous systemic malignancies and their bearing on treatment

Principles of Neural Science, 6/e 

The gold standard of neuroscience texts updated with hundreds of brand-new images and fully revised content in every chapter.

A Doody's Core Titles for 2021! 

For more than 40 years, Principles of Neural Science has helped readers understand the link between the human brain and behavior. As the renowned text has shown, all behavior is an expression of neural activity and the future of both clinical neurology and psychiatry is dependent on the progress of neural science. Fully updated, this sixth edition of the landmark reference reflects the latest research, clinical perspectives, and advances in the field. It offers an unparalleled perspective on the the current state and future of neural science.

This new edition features:

• Unmatched coverage of how the nerves, brain, and mind function
• NEW chapters on: 
  - The Computational Bases of Neural Circuits that Mediate Behavior
  - Brain-Machine Interfaces 
  - Decision-Making and Consciousness
• NEW section on the neuroscientific principles underlying the disorders of the nervous system
• Expanded coverage of the different forms of human memory
• Highly detailed chapters on stroke, Parkinson’s disease, and multiple sclerosis
• 2,200 images, including 300 new color illustrations, diagrams, radiology studies, and PET scans

Principles of Neural Science, Sixth Edition benefits from a cohesive organization, beginning with an insightful overview of the interrelationships between the brain, nervous system, genes, and behavior. 

The text is divided into nine sections: 

• Part I: Overall Perspective provides an overview of the broad themes of neural science, including the basic anatomical organization of the nervous system and the genetic bases of nervous system function and behavior.
• Part II: Cell and Molecular Biology of Cells of the Nervous System examines the basic properties of nerve cells, including the generation and conduction of propagated signaling. 
• Part III: Synaptic Transmission focuses on the electrophysiological and molecular mechanism of synaptic transmission with chapters on neuronal excitability, neurotransmitters, and transmitter release. 
• Part IV: Perception discusses the various aspects of sensory perception, including how information from the primary organs of sensation is transmitted to and processed by the central nervous system. 
• Part V: Movement considers the neural mechanisms underlying movement and examines a new treatment that addresses how the basal ganglia regulate the selection of motor actions and instantiate reinforcement learning.  
• Part VI: The Biology of Emotion, Motivation and Homeostasis examines the neural mechanisms by which subcortical areas mediate homeostatic control mechanisms, emotions, and motivation. 
• Part VII: Development and the Emergence of Behavior looks at the nervous system from early embryonic differentiation to the formation and elimination of synapses. 
• Part VIII: Learning, Memory, Language and Cognition expands on the previous section, examining the cellular mechanisms of implicit and explicit memory storage, as well as decision-making and consciousness. 
• Part IX: explores the neural mechanisms underlying diseases and disorders of the nervous system, including autism spectrum disorder, epilepsy, schizophrenia, and anxiety.

Kandel Quarterly provides users with some of the current emerging themes in neuroscience research

• Quarterly updates to the neurology collection from Eric Kandel, author of Principles of Neural Science and winner of the Nobel Prize in 2000, and his author team. Every three months AccessNeurology users receive an extensive collection of well-written content from the best minds in basic and clinical neuroscience.  
• The updates are based on themes in neurology literature, including from Nature, Science, Cell and Neuroscience.
• Each update runs 1-2 pages in length. 

• Update topics include: 

  • Revealing the structure of conceptual thoughts in the human brain
  • Synchronous oscillations in motor and sensory cortex impact memory
  • Modality dominance in sensory integration and perception
  • Phase separation in synapse compartmentalization and plasticity
  • Social experience which induces parallel changes in cortical sensory coding and behavior
  • Gap junctions to give motor neurons control over their own input
  • New insights into the coding of movement by the cerebellum
  • Discovery and characterization of large network of interacting cell surface molecules functioning in synaptic connectivity

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Neurology, 3/e

This Lange text provides practical, up-to-date strategies for assessing and managing the neurologic conditions most frequently seen in adults and children, including:

• Introductory chapters address specific symptoms and diagnostic procedures; subsequent chapters are disease specific and adhere to a standard format, beginning with Essentials of Diagnosis, followed by Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis
• Coverage of disorders in both adults and children
• Thorough coverage of diagnostic tests and the very latest pharmacologic treatments
• Practical information on common conditions such as headaches, movement disorders, and central nervous system infections
• Valuable to anyone who sees patients with neurologic complaints, whether in primary care or the neurology clinic
• Expert help with ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke, epilepsy, sleeping disorders, dizziness, hearing loss, dementia and memory loss, and more
• Each chapter written by experts in that area, without losing readability or coherence

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry, 3/e

Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will most likely encounter in clinical practice.

Doody's Core Titles for 2021!

• Relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information – right at your fingertips
• The most effective interviewing techniques and approaches
• Important evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria
• Valuable information on psychiatry and the law, psychological testing, emergency psychiatry, evaluating infants, and more
• Helpful section on the principles of evaluating and diagnosing patients as well as treatment strategies
• NEW chapters on Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder, Opioid Use Disorders, Stimulant Use Disorders, Tobacco Use Disorder, Cannabis Use Disorders, and Gambling and Behavioral Addictions
• The definitive clinical overview of psychiatric care
• Designed in the time-saving LANGE CURRENT outline style
• Covers both adult and pediatric disorders
• Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches

Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology: Principles and Practice

A comprehensive, full-color guide to the principles and practice of neuropsychiatry and behavioral neurology. A primary resource in the field.

From the world-renowned experts at the Center for Brain/Mind Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology delivers authoritative, multidisciplinary information and insights for improving patient care. Chapter authors include additional worldwide academic clinician leaders from sister institutions. 

Covering the latest advances in cognitive, affective, and behavioral neuroscience, the text provides a practical and clearly written approach to structural and functional neuroanatomy; neuropsychiatric and behavioral neurology assessments and treatments; and neurobehavioral/neuropsychiatric syndromes and disorders. Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology includes:

• A definitive introductory chapter on the neuroanatomy of cognitive and behavioral neuroscience
• Chapters on the neurocircuitry of emotions and cognition
• Chapters on neuropsychiatric assessment methods and therapeutics, including pharmacology and neurostimulation modalities
• Chapters on neurobehavioral and neuropsychiatric syndromes, as well as on neuropsychiatric aspects of different neurological and medical diseases
• Numerous full-color illustrations of brain anatomy
• High-resolution brain CT and MRI scans
• Summaries and key points, patient cases, and multiple choice questions with annotated answers
• Evidence-based updates, combined with clinical guidance from master academic clinician

Whether you’re a trainee, recent graduate, seasoned practicing clinician, or investigator interested in linking basic neuroscience research to clinical care, you’ll find everything you need to determine the neurobiological origins of alterations in emotion, cognition, and behavior; contextualize the illness to emphasize the role of underlying brain circuitry; develop informed differential diagnoses; and plan and implement the most effective treatment strategies. This text meets the curriculum requirements needed to prepare for board certification in Behavioral Neurology and Neuropsychiatry.

The NeuroICU Book, 2e

The acclaimed protocol-based guide to neurocritical care – essential for daily practice and the boards.

An immediate classic, this groundbreaking text is based on the premise that neurointensivists must be trained to handle not only the brain, but the entire body. The NeuroICU Book, Second Edition does not limit coverage to the brain and spine – it spans all organ insufficiencies and failures – along with neurologic illnesses.

Thoroughly updated to keep pace with all the advances in this emerging field, the Second Edition of The NeuroICU Book combines the latest clinical perspectives in critical care medicine, neurology, and neurosurgery. This practical, evidence-based text standardizes neurocritical care and takes you through the rationale for those standards. Filled with detailed case studies and enhanced by a question-and-answer format, the book not only builds competency in recognizing acute changes in neurological function, but also addresses all organ insufficiencies and failures, reflecting the real-life challenges in the modern neuro-ICU.

FEATURES:

• Strong emphasis on clinical practicality
• Evidence-based approach leverages the scientific and controlled research that supports the key treatment methods outlined in the book
• Practical tools include algorithms, tables, illustrations, photographs, detailed references, and critical take home points
• Balanced coverage of neurologic and critical care and neurosurgery offers outstanding preparation for the neurocritical care board certification exam as well as an indispensable primer for daily clinical work
• Second Edition includes new chapters covering CNS infection, paroxysmal sympathetic hyperactivity, acute liver failure, encephalopathy and delirium, spine trauma, pediatric neurosurgery, and carotid endarterectomy and extracranial-intracranial bypass

The NeuroICU Book is also available separately for iOS on the App Store, and Android on the Play Store. For more information, go to http://bit.ly/NeuroICUBookApp 

AccessNeurology features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessNeurology, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessNeurology highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

• Case Files: Psychiatry (case on gender dysphoria)
• Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology: Principles and Practice: Ch. 35 Holistic and Sustainable Management of Complex Neuropsychiatric Patients

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html. 

Clinical Neuroanatomy Explained is an animated video lecture series narrated by Aaron L. Berkowitz, MD, PhD. Each episode focuses on a core topic for understanding the relationship between neuroanatomical structure and function using basic animation techniques and concise explanations. Each 5 - 10 minute video reveals fundamental neuroanatomy and clinical localization principles necessary to understand how to diagnose and treat patients with neurologic disease.

The instructional video series delivers a unique, blended learning approach to clinical neurology, and videos can be used on their own or to supplement corresponding chapters from the author’s textbook, Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy: A Localization-Based Approach, which has quickly established itself as a leading resource for both clerkship neurology students and first-year neurology residents.

Procedural and conceptual videos are available in AccessNeurology in multiple categories, including:

• EEG Monitoring
• Focal Cerebral Disorders
• Gait Disorders
• Movement Disorders
• Neuromuscular Diseases
• Neuro-Ophthalmology
• Physical Exam

Click here to view the complete video library on AccessNeurology.

AccessNeurology lectures are featured as downloadable PowerPoint presentations for study and group viewing. These lectures supplement Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. Some of the areas covered include:

• ​Cerebellar Influence of Respiration and Swallowing
• Disorders of Consciousness
• Dizziness
• Guillain-Barré Syndrome 
• Headache
• Neuropathies
• Recent Advances in Neurologic Treatments

Check out the animations in AccessNeurology. Designed by BioDigital, these animations include explore tools that allow the user to select, hide, and fade specific structures in the brain, as well as pan and rotate the image and zoom in and out. The embedded anatomy search tool allows users to search for specific anatomical structures in the model by name or browse through all of the structures in the anatomy tree. These models can be shared through email and social media.

Two models are currently offered: 

• 3D Anatomy (brain structures)
• Neuroanatomy Tour 101 (structures and systems functions)