LibGuides: Scottish Studies: Home

Related Guides

Subject Guides

Other Useful Library Guides

Scottish Studies at Otago

Scottish Studies at Otago

Special Collections Exhibitions Online

Scholarly Favourites

Who uses Special Collections? And why? And what research results emanate from physically examining books and manuscripts? These questions formed the basis of the forthcoming exhibition, beginning on 10 June 2016, at the de Beer Gallery, Special Collections, University of Otago. The exhibition, entitled Scholarly Favourites. Researching in Special Collections, reveals a variety of readers, and an equally wide variety of books and manuscripts used. In most cases the item was used for research; in others the item was a pure favourite, a work that resonated with the reader's sense of being. The book or manuscript had become important to them.

A Letterpress Legacy: The Dartmouth College Book Arts Workshop

In 2015, Dartmouth College celebrated the Workshop's 25th Anniversary with an exhibition entitled: 'The Secret Revealed. The Books Arts Workshop at 25 Years'. This exhibition showcased a selection of print and book arts materials produced by students and staff at Dartmouth over the years. To celebrate the University of Otago's association with Dartmouth College through the Matariki Network*, this exhibition highlights a small selection of materials borrowed from Dartmouth's Books Arts Workshop and Rauner Special Collections Library.

Keeping it in the Family: British and Irish Literary Generations, 1770-1930

Keeping it in the Family. British and Irish Literary Generations, 1770-1930 considers the family as an essential, if often overlooked, element of creative production. It presents the stories of talented families working (and sometimes quarrelling) together in creating some of the most remarkable literary, artistic, and scientific works of the long 19th century. Many of the families, like the Wordsworths and the Brontës, are well known; others, like the Hunts and Porters, were famous in the past, but deserve a new look. In some cases, the family connections are surprising.

Recommended Databases

Use keyword searches to find articles on your research topic with these great databases!

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the Article Link button to check availability.

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature
Lists books, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations.
Literature Online
Criticism and reference material, including articles, essays, biographies and also some literary works. Database Guide.
Literature Resource Centre
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and discipline.
MLA International Bibliography
Find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes MLA's Directory of Periodicals. Database Guide.
Proquest Literature & Language
Combined search across several Proquest databases relevant to Language and Literature, including dissertations and theses.

Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from more than 6,000 peer reviewed journals. Also indexes more than 12,000 publications.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journal.
Humanities International Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,100 humanities journals, plus contains full-text for more than 890 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a range of subjects. NOTE: There is a delay in coverage, generally 3-5 years.
Historical Abstracts (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracting for 2,000+ international historical journals. A useful feature is the ability to limit your search to articles covering a particular historical period.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450+ (excluding US & Canada). HA is the leading bibliography for historical study in the world with 2,000+ international journals. Researchers in history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, gender studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, economics, business, education, music, art and law will find HA indispensable.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
History Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Combined search across all Proquest databases relevant to history, including dissertations and theses, historical newspapers and publications on history for researchers of all levels.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Lists historical writing (essays in books and journal articles) dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Over 300,000 articles on medieval subjects in thirty different languages from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays.
Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.

These databases cover journals from several disciplines, including English Literature.

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the Article Link button to check availability.

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers a range of subjects, including English literature.
JSTOR
Digitized journals, with coverage ranging from as early as 1665. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Periodicals Index Online: PIO
Multidisciplinary index to over 6,000 journals (with 850 literature journals). An excellent resource for finding primary sources, with complete runs of titles indexed (up to 1995). Database Guide.
Project MUSE
Complete, full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals, from over 120 publishers, including many university presses and scholarly societies.

Google Scholar (off-campus access only) This link opens in a new window
JURN This link opens in a new window
A curated academic search-engine. Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses.

LIBRARY 101

LIBRARY 101 is a series of in-person workshops that introduce you to Library skills and services.

Subject Librarian

Genevieve Scanlan

Email Me

Subjects: Economics, English, Irish Studies, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Scottish Studies, Tourism

Diversify The Library

What's New? Guide to Scottish Sources at the Hocken Collections

Scottish Sources at the Hocken Collections
The Hocken Collections hold a number of sources relating to individuals and organisations with Scottish origins and connections. This reference guide will help you to find them.

New Scottish Books

These are the latest new Irish & Scottish books on display in the Recent Arrivals area:

Scottish Studies: Home

Welcome! to the Scottish Subject Guide!