Skip to Main Content

The University of Otago Library has updated its Subject Guides system. Please let us know what you think by filling out this survey.

Research Publishing & Impact: Lyell Collection/Geological Society

Lyell Collection/Geological Society: Read and Publish Agreement

The Geological Society

The Geological Society's Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single site, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researchers and students alike.

Launched in 2007 to celebrate 200 years of the Geological Society of London, the Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising the Society’s journal titles, Special Publications and key book series - plus journals published on behalf of other societies. Cutting edge science sits alongside important historical material, all captured and presented to the highest electronic standards and benefiting from the extensive functionality of HighWire Press’ platform.

This is an uncappped agreement, with no limit to the number of articles that can be published OA.

Included titles (from 2024)

  • Journal of the Geological Society
  • Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology & Hydrogeology
  • Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis
  • Petroleum Geoscience
  • Proceedings of the Yorkshire Geological Society
  • Scottish Journal of Geology
  • The Geological Society Special Publications
  • GSL Books
  • Engineering Geology Special Publications
  • Memoirs series

Title list

The agreement allows for publishing in all journals. If you wish to publish open access, please check to ensure that your desired journal is included.

Hybrid journals that 'flip' to OA during the course of this agreement will remain available for OA publishing for the duration of the agreement.

View the 2024 Otago titles list.

This agreement allows authors from participating institutions to publish in all of The Geological Society’s hybrid journals without the need for any transactional open access article processing charge (APC).

This is an uncapped agreement. There is no limit on the number of articles that can be published OA under this agreement.

From January 2024 The Geological Society has partnered with ChronosHub which allows librarians to self-service real-time reporting for articles published at your institution. https://chronoshub.io/services/institutions/

New read content coming in 2024 includes the Energy Geoscience Conference.  

GSL has partnered with the American Geophysical Union to publish GeoHorizons an open science book series - volumes expected late 2024 will be included in any TA agreements.

Article eligibility

Articles submitted from 1/1/2024 are eligible to be published open access under this agreement.

Article submission date is used for eligibility however if an institution joins late in the year retrospective OA may be possible to the beginning of the year of the agreement. Agreements are January to December.

Article types

The following article types are eligible for open access under this agreement:

  • Research articles
  • Reviews and perspective articles
  • Review focus series
  • Thematic collection articles
  • Discussion papers
  • Case studies
  • Technical notes

There are no exclusions.

Other charges

The Geological Society does not charge additional fees for page and/or colour fees. Authors should always check each journal’s submission guidelines to ensure that they will not be subject to any other fees or charges.

Corresponding authors from institutions listed under 'Participating institutions' may publish immediately to open access on the publisher's platform once the article has been accepted, with no transactional APCs.

Author eligibility

As defined by the publisher, the eligible author is:

Eligible authors are corresponding authors submitting using their institutional email address and affiliation. Corresponding authors handle correspondence and agreements during the editorial and production process on behalf of all authors and are listed on the article for any queries post-publication. Email address and/or affiliation are used to automatically identify eligibility through our manuscript submission system/ChronosHub and we also offer a ‘human eye’ check. 

If research forming the article was completed at the institution with the agreement but the corresponding author has moved affiliations and no longer has access to their institutional email address, the article can be included within the agreement if consent is given by the institution holding the agreement. 

Articles must be submitted for the first time during the agreement term to be eligible. Articles submitted during the agreement term but accepted outside of it will be published open access under the terms of the agreement.

If an eligible article is not identified due to system failure or because the corresponding author did not supply the correct information, open access will be applied retrospectively if notified within 12 months of publication.

Responsible corresponding authors must include a participating institution as one of their affiliations to benefit from this agreement. 

Authors will be identified as eligible for open access publishing by their:

  • institutional affiliation
  • email address

Responsible corresponding authors must use their institutional email address when submitting an article for publication

Responsible corresponding authors should not use personal email addresses (e.g. Hotmail, Gmail). Doing so may result in delayed approval of the article or the article may not be approved to be published open access under the terms of the agreement. 

During the submission process, corresponding authors will be informed that their article is eligible to be published under an  agreement. It will be clear that no APC is payable.

Authors may opt not to publish Open Access during the manuscript submission process.

There is no validation step by institutions and all eligible articles are published open access automatically. If an institution wishes to approve articles this can be implemented via ChronosHub on request. 

Author rights

Articles from authors at participating institutions may be published under the following Creative Commons licenses:

  • CC BY

Authors retain all rights as per the CC license.

Further information about licenses is available on the publisher's website.

The Creative Commons licenses allow reuse (some with conditions) while protecting the authors' rights of acknowledgment as authors. 

Authors retain the copyright in the article and a Creative Commons CC BY licence will be used for the published article. This means that the final published version of record can be shared immediately e.g. from the Lyell Collection, as well as uploaded to institutional repositories. 

The decision to publish an article is always made on editorial criteria through the peer review process and is entirely separate from the model an article is published under.

How to submit your article for open access publishing

The following instructions for authors have been provided by the publisher. Further details are available on the publisher’s website.

Corresponding authors submit using Editorial Manager submission system. 

During the manuscript submission process, corresponding authors will be informed that their article is eligible to be published under the agreement. It will be made clear that no APC is payable.

Authors may opt not to publish Open Access during the manuscript submission process.
There is no validation step by institutions and all eligible articles are published open access automatically. 

Authors retain the copyright in the article and a Creative Commons CC BY licence will be used for the published article. 

The decision to publish an article is always made on editorial criteria through the peer review process and is entirely separate from the model an article is published under.

Example screenshot(s):

Sharing via repositories

Green open access
  • Authors may post a copy of the accepted (i.e. post-peer review but pre-copyedited) version of their article, accompanied by a link to the relevant article abstract on the Lyell Collection, in their institutional repository, a subject-based repository or personal website after the relevant embargo period has passed.
  • The embargo period is 12 months from formal online publication on the Lyell Collection.
  • Under no circumstances may the publisher’s final version (e.g. PDF) be posted under the terms of green open access. 
  • There is no automated loading to institutional repositories.
Other repositories

Article metadata is also sent to:

  • Geobase
  • Geological Abstracts
  • GeoRef
  • Petroleum Abstracts
  • Scopus
  • Clarivates Web of Science
  • Mineralogical Abstracts
  • Cross Ref
  • Figshare
  • Library discovery services:
    • Summon
    • Primo (ProQuest)
    • EBSCO Discovery
  • WorldCat knowledge base (MARC records and KBART data).

Contact details: The Geological Society

Please email subs@geolsoc.org.uk for questions regarding this agreement. Please include your full name, institution, article title, journal name and DOI (if available), and state the reason for your enquiry.

Sharing via repositories

Green open access
  • Authors may post a copy of the accepted (i.e. post-peer review but pre-copyedited) version of their article, accompanied by a link to the relevant article abstract on the Lyell Collection, in their institutional repository, a subject-based repository or personal website after the relevant embargo period has passed.
  • The embargo period is 12 months from formal online publication on the Lyell Collection.
  • Under no circumstances may the publisher’s final version (e.g. PDF) be posted under the terms of green open access. 
  • There is no automated loading to institutional repositories.
Other repositories

Article metadata is also sent to:

  • Geobase
  • Geological Abstracts
  • GeoRef
  • Petroleum Abstracts
  • Scopus
  • Clarivates Web of Science
  • Mineralogical Abstracts
  • Cross Ref
  • Figshare
  • Library discovery services:
    • Summon
    • Primo (ProQuest)
    • EBSCO Discovery
  • WorldCat knowledge base (MARC records and KBART data).