|
On the Databases webpage you will find links to 600+ databases. Article databases are a good source of information you can use in your assignments. You may need to use a range of databases to find all the information you need. There isn't a Criminology subject list - but the Criminology Subject Guide lists relevant databases and journals. If you know the name of the database you need, select it from the A-Z list.
|
| Tip - if you access Google Scholar via the link on the Library homepage you will be able to link to articles in some of the Library's databases by clicking 'Otago Article Link' when it appears in the Google Scholar results screen. |
Visit your subject guide for more sources of national and international crime statistics:
Visit the NZ Statistics guide to find statistical information and data from historic to current, using databases, online data sources and publications:
"Zanran helps you to find ‘semi-structured’ data on the web. This is the numerical data that people have presented as graphs and tables and charts."
Hocken Collections are housed in the Hocken Library, on Anzac Ave, a block from the Stadium.
Culture and history resources reflect New Zealand, the Pacific and the Antarctic:
|
 |
Contact Hocken staff on 479 8879, reference.hocken@otago.ac.nz, or take a tour each Wednesday at11am and 2pm.
|
The Law Subject Guide lists all the major databases for finding literature on New Zealand and International law including:
|
 |
|
|
 |
Use the Self Help guide -Searching & Evaluating to help improve your search techniques.
Library Search | Ketu provides one-step searching across a wide range of the University of Otago Library's resources, including items on the shelf in the Library and some databases, e-journals, e-books and newspapers.
Login before you start searching in order to improve your search results.
The Library Search | Ketu box is on the Library homepage
Watch this video for a demonstration of how to use Library Search | Ketu.
These resources are great places to start looking for theses and dissertations written in New Zealand and Australia. For theses and dissertations not held at the University of Otago Library, or available open access online, request through Interloan
The Thesis Information guide contains links to a large number of international thesis sources.
Subject Guides are a great place to start looking for information on your assignment topic. They provide access to key resources, databases, research, websites and topic-related information.
Over and above the Criminology Subject Guide, there are many other guides that can help you including...
|
|
|
You may need to use a range of subject guides for your assignments.
The Library Newspapers guide will help you to check if the library holds a specific newspaper (in print or online). You can also browse the guide to find newspapers from a specific region or time period.
